Plant A Seed. God Will Do The Rest!

“Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.” (1 Peter 4:10, NIV)

Our greatest satisfaction in life comes when we discover our unique gifts and talents and use them to edify others and to glorify the Lord. God allowed me to understand this a few years ago. I knew God wanted me to do be an ambassador for Him, I just didn’t know what He wanted me to do. I decided to start a breakfast Bible study at a restaurant near my office. My announcement about the Bible study had only been posted in our office for about an hour before a co-worker pulled it off the wall and brought it in to me.

“You can’t bring Jesus into work,” he objected. “You need to keep your beliefs out of the office.”

“I can’t help it”, I said. “Jesus goes with me wherever I go. He’s a part of me. He’s the biggest part of my life.”

He wasn’t impressed with my response and it was soon forgotten. Shortly thereafter, I left the company and went into semi-retirement (whatever that means). I started another Bible study closer to my home.

A few months later one of my friends from our original study group asked me if I remembered the guy who objected to our little gathering?”

“Sure, I remember him,” I recalled.

“Well, he got sick, went into the hospital, and almost died. I went up to visit him every day for about a week. Finally, believe it or not, I led him to Christ.”

I was ecstatic and overwhelmed. I couldn’t believe that I was part of something that was so huge. The sense of fulfillment was exhilarating. And it all happened because I listened to the Holy Spirit and allowed Him to use me for His purposes. I didn’t do anything but plant a seed. God did the rest!

Our workplaces and our neighborhoods are important mission fields. God has planted each of us where we are right now for His harvest and for His glory. So many people miss their calling in life by looking for fulfillment in the “world” instead of with Christ Jesus.

Decide to become His ambassador this Thursday. You won’t be sorry!

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

“We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.” (2 Corinthians 5:20, NIV)


“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: 1 Peter, 2 Corinthians, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Plant A Seed. God Will Do The Rest!”


  1. Great Post!!!! The guy that came to Christ in the hospital, this part of the post made my heart shudder with joy and my eyes filled with tears of compassion. I can surely see your gifting in this Blog. Thanks for taking the time to put this together and as always, God Bless you my Friend :-)

    • Dave Boller Says:

      We often get frustrated and feel like we aren’t reaching anyone at all, but somehow, some way, God knows exactly what He’s doing through each of us! Thanks for your kind words!

  2. yalandarose Says:

    ” I knew God wanted me to do be an ambassador for Him, I just didn’t know what He wanted me to do.” this is where i am at right now, but i will keep praying until He Reveals it to me:)


  3. […] Plant A Seed. God Will Do The Rest! (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,621 other followers

