FEAR NO EVIL!

“Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for You are with me.”  (Psalm 23:4, NIV)

(Photo courtesy of todaysbibleverse.com)

Our days are filled with many hills and valleys. When things are going well, we feel like nothing can bring us down. But when things take a turn for the worse, it’s often difficult to find a way out! Unfortunately, these “valleys” affect us all. Little bits of darkness constantly bombard us as we go about our daily routines.

Sometimes these valleys are obvious. We lose our jobs, our companies go out of business, our homes go into foreclosure, our relationships fall apart, or our promotions go to someone less deserving. Then there are other times when the darkness isn’t quite so clear – it hides in the details. Like last week when my computer froze up in the middle of an important spreadsheet – I lost about four hours of very detailed and tedious work. I was able to re-construct it, but it seems like it took years off my life and nearly took Christ out of the “Christian” in me.

When we wake up in the morning we know that valleys are likely to occur – generally at the most inconvenient times. We can choose to deal with these challenges in a number of ways. The “worldly” response is to “curse” at the problem, or to drown it out with drugs, or alcohol, or anything else that would ease the discomfort. The “Christianly” response is to understand that these valleys are part of God’s plan to bring us closer to Him. We need to accept our path (darkness and all) and place our trust in the only One who can deliver us. The Psalmist (David) says it best: “I will fear no evil, for You are with me”.

Coming to terms with the darkness frees us to live in His light! Embrace your darkest valleys this week. Use them to bring you closer to the Lord!

Enjoy your Monday, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Old Testament, Psalm

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “FEAR NO EVIL!”


  1. Oh so true! Thank you for this message. It is a wonderful reminder!

  2. garden2day Says:

    These are true blessings to our lives…hard to understand it but whatever brings us closer, makes us kneel at the cross, is worth everything.

    Someone told me the other day that she bets there are people who envy me because I have this “thing” in my head-that it causes me to seek to be close to God… While I don’t think people want this “thing” I do think there are those who desire to be closer. Thank you for this!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,587 other followers

