ARE YOU PREPARED?

“But the day of the Lord will come like a thief. The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything done in it will be laid bare. Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives”. (2 Peter 3:10-11, NIV)

Thief in the Night

I’m writing this on Friday evening at about 7:45 p. m. It will be published on Monday morning just as I am being prepped for surgery, which is scheduled for 7:30 a. m. I am having my prostate removed along with all the cancer that has completely destroyed it. I am prepared for (most of) the consequences that may occur as a result of this surgery. Most importantly, I am at peace with God and know that His will is all that really matters through all of this.

I am extremely fortunate. I know the date and the time of my surgery. I have had time to prepare by consulting various doctors and reading articles about prostate cancer and prostate surgery. I am aware of the risks and I accept the challenges that are possible in my future.

“The day of the Lord will come like a thief.” My cancer has opened my eyes to the inevitable fact that our time on this earth is limited. We are all going to meet our Maker at some point. No one knows when that exact time will be. Simon Peter instructs us to be ready for that day by living “holy and godly lives” today. Just as I have prepared for surgery and it’s consequences, we should be preparing for Christ’s second coming and the consequences associated with His return. That preparation includes studying the Word of God, seeking His forgiveness, and living “holy and godly lives”.

We are to model our lives after the life of Jesus Christ. We are not perfect, but we can do better than we are doing. We can love each other more; we can be more patient with one another; we can be a bit more humble; we can be more forgiving; we can live our lives in peace; we can be more gentle and kind.

On Tuesday, when the surgery is over, a new day will begin. I can once again resume my preparation, not for more surgery, but for the coming of the Lord! Make no mistake; that day will come. There will be no warning. We need to be ready for each and every consequence!

bible

Thanks for all of your prayers and well-wishes! God bless each of you!

Enjoy your Monday, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: 2 Peter, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “ARE YOU PREPARED?”

  1. Daniel Undem Says:

    I will be praying your surgery and recovery goes well. God Bless.

  2. Rene Yoshi Says:

    Wow… I’m so sorry to hear of the cancer and needed surgery, but so blessed by your peace and confidence in the Lord. I pray your surgery went well and you have a blessed time of recovery.

  3. garden2day Says:

    You, as always, are in my prayers–for continued healing and recovery. Faith that can move mountains is something we all seek and is what you have. May God be glorified in your walk–always–and may your words continue to touch many lives. Blessings…

  4. Jim Currie Says:

    I wish you a steadfast recovery Dave. May the Lord keep you with us and inspiring us through your works as long as he sees fit. Get strong soon!

  5. Eileen Says:

    Praying that you are recovered and enjoying celebrating the birth of our Savior.

  6. George Hayward Says:

    Beautiful post and a great reminder! From the other comments I see that you’re home and recovering, praise God! I will be praying for you to heal up and be as good as new!


  7. Hey Dave, Just wanted to let you know that I have a cup of coffee (maybe a Smoothie) waiting for you when you get back in the saddle!!! Take Care my Friend and God Bless :-) Kenny T

  8. mastersquill Says:

    Thank you for sharing aspects of Christ on your blog. I hope your recovery is continuing smoothly. “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” 1 Thess. 5:16-18


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,621 other followers

