We Have A Choice!

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, NIV)

God’s will for us is to be happy at all times and in all things. He wants our lives to be a continual “prayer” in which we are in constant communication with Him. And, God’s desire is for us to give Him thanks for everything that takes place in our lives.

How can we do that when things aren’t going well? How can we rejoice and be thankful when a loved one is diagnosed with cancer or when our best friend has just passed away?

Paul doesn’t say things are going to be easy. He says God’s “will” for us is to be happy, thankful, and in constant prayer. We’re still human, and we will have human feelings until we reach eternity. But, as humans, we have choices – we can choose to believe that “all things work together for good to those who love God” (Romans 8:28, NIV) or we can choose to believe that there is nothing to believe in. It is totally, 100% up to each one of us to make that decision!

At different times in my life, I have believed both ways. I can tell you from experience, my life has been totally transformed since I have chosen to allow the Holy Spirit to direct my path. Death and disease (among many other things) are still difficult for me to handle, but I realize these things are inevitable. For me, life is much more enjoyable and peaceful with Christ Jesus at my side! I have made the choice to rejoice, pray, and be thankful as much as humanly possible! I pray that you, too, will find His peace in your life.

Enjoy your Tuesday, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: 1 Thessalonians, New Testament, Romans

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “We Have A Choice!”


  1. I look for your devotional every day… It is truly a Blessing!!! Thank you for the time you spend putting this together. God Bless!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Dave Boller Says:

    You’re welcome, Kenny! Thanks for your kind comments. This is something that the Lord has impressed on me to do every week day. It is inspired by the Holy Spirit – all for the glory of God! I’m just His tool for putting it down on “paper”! Thanks, again! I feel the same way about your blog, too! 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

