Satan Beat Me Up Yesterday!

“Hope in the Lord and keep His way. He will exalt you to inherit the land; when the wicked are destroyed, you will see it.” (Psalm 37:34, NIV)

If you read my devotion yesterday, you’ll remember that my prayer was to live all day according to God’s will and to do only the things that honor and glorify Him. Psalm 37:3 seemed so simple. I forgot one important fact – the ENEMY is around every corner and is always, always scheming to destroy the faith that we are working so hard to build!

It seems like everything I tried to do yesterday failed. I had an early morning appointment – traffic was horrendous! The ten-minute drive took nearly forty-five minutes! I completely forgot that I was going to “give it all to the Lord and trust that He is in charge”. Satan took control, and that situation negatively affected my mood and demeanor for the rest of the morning.

In the afternoon a client of mine, who has owed me a considerable amount of money for over a year now, called and asked me to do some additional work for him. My answer, before I even had a chance to think about it, was a resounding “No, not until you pay me what you owe me!” I didn’t even give him a chance to explain what had happened in the past to cause his misfortune. We ended up getting in an argument that just ended up frustrating both of us. Once again Satan was in charge and grinning ear to ear!

This morning the Lord asked me to read a little further in Psalm 37. “Hope in the Lord and keep His way … when the wicked are destroyed, you will see it.”  Yesterday was a humbling experience to realize Satan still has the ability to get to me so easily. As long as I continue to put my trust and faith in the Lord and continue to do good and keep His way, the enemy will eventually be destroyed!

I have the power of the Holy Spirit living within me. I will succeed!

Have a great Wednesday, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: Old Testament, Psalm

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Satan Beat Me Up Yesterday!”


  1. Good Post My Friend!!!!! I’m praying for a hedge of protection around you man…. Take care and God Bless 🙂

    Like

  2. Nici Roberson Says:

    I didnt’t comment earlier on this because I was not so sure what to say other than thanks for posting this, its so true though what you have written anytime we do something good, the enemy is always there to try and knock us back down.. I am happy you blogged about it! it helps people be aware of what the enemy does, more often than not people think they are just in a bad mood, or bad timing… I def look forward to reading more of your blog!

    Like


  3. […] Satan Beat Me Up Yesterday! (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  4. J. Randall Stewart Says:

    It is most easy to forget about Satan, when you don’t really believe he’s there to begin with. I think most Christians believe in the concept of Satan, but not the reality. We all certainly ascribe a lot of other causes to things that could be perpetrated by Satan. It’s amazing to me how little we think he’s involved in our world, and yet, how much the Bible portray’s his involvement. In scripture we see that he’s constantly about, looking for someone to devour. I also think certain groups can focus to much on Satan, and not ascribe enough to their own sinful nature. In all this, what I’m trying to say, is that it’s good to see you have a healthy concept of the enemy, to be aware of his tactics. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like


Leave a Reply

