Smell The Peaches!

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” (Galatians 5:22-23, NIV)

My wife and I spent yesterday afternoon at the farmer’s market. As we wandered through the stalls, we could smell peaches long before we reached the stall where they were being sold. Once we tasted one, we couldn’t resist the urge to buy a few. The peaches now sit on our kitchen counter. As I glance at them, I reflect on John 15:4, NIV: “Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.” And I wonder, apart from my memories of an enjoyable afternoon, what will remain after the last peach has been eaten?

Whenever I attempt to describe Christ to someone, I inevitably use the adjectives contained in Galatians 5:22-23. In other words, Christ is loving, joyful, peaceful, patient, kind, good, faithful, gentle, and self-controlled. I believe that as I continue to follow Him, my capacity for having these same characteristics will continue to grow within me.

Scripture describes these gifts as fruit. Like fruit, these characteristics grow; they are not stagnant. I don’t have a formula for joy. I haven’t figured out a specification for peacefulness. I simply know that when I experience joy, it results in thoughts, words, and actions that others may recognize as joyful.

It’s interesting to me that John 15 places the topic of fruitfulness within the context of love. For me, it reinforces the belief that my relationship with Christ is the source of any fruitfulness I may have. In other words, many of my thoughts, words, and actions ultimately result from how I imagine Christ – what I actually believe about Him and what I believe about myself as a result. If my image of Christ aligns with the descriptions found in Galatians, my hope is that my image will also resemble those characteristics the more my relationship with Christ continues to grow!

Begin this new week by asking Christ to fill you with the “fruit” of His Spirit! Stay focused. Don’t allow anything to come between you and our Savior this week!

Enjoy your Monday, “Working for Christ.”

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: Galatians, John, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Smell The Peaches!”


  1. Wonderful and timely message. And now I’m looking for some fruit, especially peaches. I hope you have a Wonderful day. Take care and God Bless 🙂

    Like


  2. […] Smell The Peaches! (work4christ.wordpress.com) Share this:DiggRedditStumbleUponTwitterEmailPrintFacebookLinkedInTumblrPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Explore posts in the same categories: Galatians, Luke, New Testament […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

