Gotta’ Whole Lotta’ Love!

“But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” (Matthew 6:33, NIV)

After becoming a Christian about 10 years ago, I decided I should actually read the bible, cover to cover. One of the verses I committed to memory was the one above, found in Matthew.

Unfortunately, this verse didn’t fit very well with the way I was living my life. Instead of seeking God’s kingdom first, I was actively seeking my career, my family, my house, and more and more “things”. I honestly thought that after I had achieved success in this world, I could then be able to change my priorities and turn my focus toward God. After all, I was under the impression that God helps those who help themselves, right?

As I read and reread the Scriptures over the next couple of years, I came to the realization that my perception of my role as a follower of Christ wasn’t based on the Bible at all. Instead, it was based on the “American Dream” and on theories about what I believed the Bible said. My basic, core belief was that all God required of me was to ask for forgiveness and believe that Jesus died for my sins. I could then get right back to working on building my own little kingdom.

The more I started to understand the Bible, however, I saw that Jesus taught His followers that if they didn’t follow His example and act on His teachings, they didn’t really know Him at all. He actually spent a great portion of His earthly ministry confronting people, just like me, who thought they were right with God by virtue of their own belief system but weren’t acting on their faith.

Jesus also taught a lot about money. He spoke about people who valued money and success as their god, people who were afraid to lose it or to give it away, people who stored it up for an uncertain future, and people who were unwilling to use it to transform other people’s lives. In fact, on multiple occasions Jesus made a close connection between a person’s attitude about money and that person’s salvation. Again, He was speaking to me.

Maybe I’m a slow learner, but I finally understand. His kingdom and His righteousness are now my priority. My relationship with Him is the most important thing in my life! I don’t have a lot of money nor do I have a lot of “things”. But I do have peace and love completely filling my life!

I pray the same for each and everyone who reads this message! God bless you, and have a wonderful Monday, “Working for Christ”!

 

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: Matthew, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

