We’re Not In Control!

“Wealth and honor come from You; You are the ruler of all things. In Your hands are strength and power to exalt and give strength to all.” (1 Chronicles 29:12, NIV)

More than likely you know someone at your workplace or from a previous place of employment who has come up to you and said, “Did you hear about Smith? He just got a promotion. I’ve been here three years, and I haven’t received a promotion. What’s going on?”

Or perhaps, he’s said, “I hate this place. I bust my tail for this company and I’m not appreciated. I just saw this great job posted on Monster.com. Maybe I should apply.”

Do you know this person? I know him well … in fact, I’ve been that guy. Maybe you have been, too.

Living this way is like riding a roller coaster. Sure, there are moments of pure happiness when you finally do get that promotion or you’re able to obtain a new opportunity, but most of your time is spent in fear and uncertainty about whether or not your career is going as you had planned. You’re consumed with thoughts such as, “Am I getting paid enough? Am I moving up fast enough? Should I look for another job? Why did he get promoted and I didn’t?” And, when you’re feeling down and out, Monster.com starts to look pretty good.

It doesn’t have to be this way. God does not want us to live in fear. I have found great comfort and freedom in realizing that while I am not in control, there is a loving and caring God who is.

In 1 Chronicles 29:12, David says, “Wealth and honor come from You, You are the ruler of all things. In Your hands are strength and power to exalt and give strength to all.”

It is not up to me whether or not I get promoted; it is up to God. It is not up to me if I receive wealth or honor; it is up to God. When I remember that He is in control, I am free to focus on what He is trying to teach me right now, in my present position, and to be open to His leading when He provides new opportunities.

Have a blessed Tuesday, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: 1 Chronicles, Old Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “We’re Not In Control!”


  1. This is a good one My Friend!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

