This Is Love!

 

“For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.” (Matthew 6:14-15, NIV)

A couple of years ago, I learned just how easy it is to give in to anger and an unforgiving heart at work. At first, I pretended I wasn’t upset, but after a few months it became evident that I had been hurt. I was holding unresolved anger.

Unfortunately, I processed my displeasure by talking about my offender with other people instead of going directly to the source. I also took my case of injustice to God by complaining. The result – I ended up creating mistrust among several of my co-workers toward my offender, and my personal productivity began to deteriorate.

Eventually, my slanderous talk surfaced. A major “blowout” ensued which led to my leaving the company. Stunned and disheartened, I cried out to God. His response was to allow me to see my lack of forgiveness through the discomfort of my unemployment.

My unwillingness to forgive was a result of my pride. Pride, because I didn’t trust God, and pride because I was demanding justice from my offender. Finally, I came to realize that “without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to Him must believe that He exists and that He rewards those who earnestly seek him.” (Hebrews 11:6, NIV)

It‘s easy to become offended by our colleagues, bosses, and co-workers. When this happens, we need to trust God. Since our goal is to become more like Jesus, we must learn to forgive those who have offended us just as God has forgiven us for our sins.

“This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” (1 John 4:10, NIV)

Enjoy your Thursday, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

 

Explore posts in the same categories: 1 John, Hebrews, Matthew, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “This Is Love!”


  1. Awesome testimony!!! Thanks for sharing. Take Care and God Bless 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

