Remain In Me!

“Remain in Me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in Me.” (John 15:4, NIV)

For me, inspiration often comes as a vision – sometimes even in a dream – of what God is planning for me. When I can’t visualize His plan for me, I find myself lacking attentiveness and motivation. This is especially true when I’m undertaking a new venture. As much as I want to do God’s will, it’s very difficult for me to move forward with purpose and passion when I’m not sure where He’s leading me.

When I started my business a few years ago, I did so with the understanding that I would dedicate my work, and my life, to the Lord. As I sought His guidance, I hadn’t fully received a clear picture from God as to where I should focus my efforts. As a result, I was “out of sync” every day and had difficulty maintaining my enthusiasm.

In order to find clarity and purpose, I spent a lot of time in prayer. It was during this quiet time that I realized the Holy Spirit has been with me my entire life and that He has directed my every move. He doesn’t make demands of my time, but He waits patiently for me to seek Him. When I spend time with Him every morning, I am in His will and He guides every step I take.

Proverbs 3:6 states, “In all your ways submit to Him, and He will direct your paths.” As long as I follow this advice, I know where to find purpose and clarity. I have now come to identify those “visions” as the Holy Spirit living within me.

Dove of the Holy Spirit (ca. 1660, alabaster, ...

You may not hear God in the same way I do, but He is patiently waiting to hear from you. Ask the Holy Spirit to fill you each day and to guide your actions and decisions. Good things happen when you spend time with the Lord! I now have the confidence and the motivation that comes from knowing that I am on God’s designated path and that He will guide every step I take. He is the overwhelming focus of my life!

Enjoy your Friday, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: John, New Testament, Old Testament, Proverbs

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Remain In Me!”


  1. Your devotions truly bless my heart!!! And I can really relate to your subject today. I have found that seeking the Lord every day is so important. We have to stay connected to Vine Brother. 🙂

    My wife and I have two rooms above our garage that we use for a family room and office area. Several weeks ago we committed to spending individual quiet time with the Lord. The rooms above the garage have taken on a new name and atmosphere. We call them the “Upper Room” and go there seeking the Lord. I am an early morning person and my wife is the exact opposite. So, the Upper Room is just right for us to quietly seek the Lord and heavenly guidance. My morning routine is; Grab a cup of Coffee, climb the steps to the “Upper Room”, Post the Morning Story and Dilbert, and then head out to work….. Take Care and God Bless!! 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

    • Dave Boller Says:

      My “Upper Room” is in my first floor office. I generally roll out of bed about 7:30, grab a diet coke or a fruit smoothie, sit down and read Morning Story and Dilbert, spend a few minutes in prayer, write the “Working for Christ” blog, then take a shower and begin the work day. I appreciate your support. God bless you, too – have a great weekend! 🙂

      Like

  2. George Hayward Says:

    Your blogs are all so uplifting! I have been spending a lot more time with God lately, and He truly does meet you when you seek him out. Also, I love the new site layout!

    Like


Leave a Reply

