DO YOU EVER FIND TIME TO REST?

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28, NIV)

There are many people who feel that forty hours a week just isn’t enough time to get everything accomplished that needs to get done! The business world is full of people who think they need to work many hours because it’s their “job”. And, there are many ways to fool ourselves into thinking that we are doing something noble by working sixty to seventy hours per week. We even try to fool our Christian friends by saying we are working so many hours because we are doing it for the Lord.

Many of us have a hard time just slowing down – resting is completely out of the question! We really need to take time to rest, relax, and rejuvenate. We just can’t seem to find the time. The Lord wants us to remember our priorities. He asks us to spend time with Him, to place our burdens in His hands. When we do, He will give the rest we so desperately need:

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:29-30, NIV)

Psalm 23 says it beautifully, “The Lord is my shepherd … He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, He restores my soul.”

What a visual! Picture yourself lying out in a beautiful green meadow with a gentle stream going by as Jesus stands over you, protecting you. He is your friend! He wants to love and protect you, but He also wants you to rest.

Why do we really get so busy? Are we really working for the Lord? What does it truly mean to rest in His arms? I’m not a theologian, or a pastor. I’m just a guy who has received many, many blessings from our Lord during my lifetime! I’m still learning how to rest. He will always be my Teacher!

Spend time resting in His arms this Thursday. Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: Matthew, New Testament, Old Testament

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “DO YOU EVER FIND TIME TO REST?”


  1. Hey Dave, It’s a great day for “Rest”!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  2. Peg Richards Says:

    Thanks for reading and linking back to my blog, Dave. Enjoy your day!

    Like


  3. […] DO YOU EVER FIND TIME TO REST? (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


  4. […] Do You Ever Find Time to Rest? (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

