PEACE LIVES IN ME!

 

“Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times and in every way. The Lord be with all of you.” (2 Thessalonians 3:16, NIV)

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” (John 14:27, NIV)

A light blue ribbon is the symbol for prostate...

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer this past Tuesday. Since then, I have run around to different testing facilities trying to make sure the cancer hasn’t spread into my pelvis, my colon, my bones, or into any other part of my body. I am scheduled to meet with my urologist again toward the end of next week to decide a plan of action.

I was a bit surprised by my first reaction when I received the news. Believe it or not, the first thing I did was to thank the Lord. Was I crazy? Really? Thank Him for having cancer? I have had quite a few strange things happening to my body over the past couple of years, and I was actually relieved to finally have the answers.

It seems strange, yet I have a genuine feeling of peace about this whole situation. I realize that this disease was brought about according to God’s will and that He intends to use me in a mighty way. I’m not exactly sure what His plan entails, but I am fully committed to Him and am prepared to do whatever He asks. My anxiety has subsided. I can honestly say that I am resting in God’s peace!

Yesterday morning, after one of my MRI’s, I received a post from LivingMoreAbundantly (or should I say it came directly from God?). It  completely filled my soul. Thanks, LivingMoreAbundantly, for listening to your heart as you wrote this blog – it truly has touched mine!

Thank you all in advance for your prayers and well wishes. They are appreciated.

“So then, those who suffer according to God’s will should commit themselves to their faithful Creator and continue to do good.” (1 Peter 4:19, NIV) 

There is absolutely nothing to fear! God is in total control of all things.

Enjoy your Friday, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

Related Articles:

Explore posts in the same categories: 1 Peter, 2 Thessalonians, John, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “PEACE LIVES IN ME!”

  1. myimmanuel Says:

    May God sustain you on your sickbed and restore you from your bed of illness (Psalm 41 NIV).

    Like

  2. Daniel Undem Says:

    I will be praying for you and your recovery. God bless.

    Like


  3. My Heart and Prayers go out to you my Friend and Brother in Christ!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T Just to let you know, you have me thinking about trying a Smoothie this weekend. But, for know I’m heading over to the old Keurig for a second cup of coffee……. 🙂

    Like

    • Dave Boller Says:

      Thanks, Kenny T. I appreciate your prayers. I’m in great hands. Everything happens according to His plan. By the way, my wife has a Keurig; I’ve got the Vitamix. I love my smoothies! Enjoy. 🙂

      Like

  4. terribell85 Says:

    I’m praying that whatever God is going to do through you will be done in such a mighty way that all those you encounter will grasp ahold to Him!!

    Like

  5. Jim Currie Says:

    Dear Dave,

    Like you, I too am a project manager in the commercial construction industry and I also live here in the Orlando area. I came upon your daily postings about 6 months ago searching for some insight between work and spirituality. Your writing gives me hope and strength each day to face what seems to be a thankless, almost toxic work environment these days. But now, as I learn of your cancer diagnosis, the issues I’m having at work seem meaningless and and full of self pity.

    Ever since I discovered you are right here in Orlando I’ve been meaning to reach out to you and see if you’d like to get together and have a cup of coffee or lunch and commiserate about work sometime. That offer still stands although I know you’re probably pretty busy dealing with your latest situation. But if you ever need someone to just dump on and get something off your chest, by all means please give me a call. You can find me at 407-701-2560.

    Your friend in Christ, Jim Currie

    Like

  6. inkpaperpen Says:

    Praying for you and your family!

    Like


  7. Hi Dave,

    Isn’t it great that in the midst of any struggle we face is the power of Christ working out a divine purpose for which he has allowed by this struggle. All that comes against us as believers must bow to the will of Christ for our lives! There is a purpose in God allowing you to have prostate cancer but it will not defeat you but rather make you stronger for the work he has for you.

    One in three men get this type of cancer and they are very successful with it. I will be praying for you.

    Like

    • Dave Boller Says:

      Thanks for the encouragement, Marianne. I had a followup appointment yesterday with my urologist. The cancer is fully contained within the prostate. We will be able to treat it aggressively. I know it sounds a bit crazy, but if you’re going to get cancer, this is the one to get.

      Within a few months, and with God’s help, I should be cancer free! I appreciate your prayers! God bless you! Dave 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

