ADDICTED TO WORK!

“The testing will refine, cleanse, and purify those who keep their heads on straight and stay true, for there is still more to come.” (Daniel 11:35, The Message)

As a sole proprietor, it’s exciting to watch God work within the confines of my business. I’m often stunned and even amazed by the difficulties and challenges that I meet every day.

I’ve come to appreciate that my problems almost always become opportunities for me to coöperate with God as He actively refines the details of my life. As He did with His own Son, God the Father allows us to be tested in order to build our character and our faith. He also tests us so that, by our example, we might be an encouragement to others who face similar challenges in their lives.

Early in my career, I accepted a job in Chicago with a Fortune 500 company as a Regional Product Manager. I thought I had finally made the “big time” until I realized what was happening to me. My responsibilities required me to travel – away from my wife and kids – every single day of the workweek. By the time I got home on Friday evening, I was exhausted. I didn’t want to be around anyone. By Sunday morning, I was already planning my trip for the following week. I enjoyed the prestige of my job more than I valued being a good husband, father, and friend. I had become addicted to my work! It nearly cost my marriage and my family, but with God’s help, I was finally able to re-establish my priorities and start fresh.

Since then, I’ve learned to recognize my weaknesses. I spend a lot of quiet time with God, praising Him and asking for His guidance in everything I do. Spending time with Him gives me the hope and courage I need to continue pressing into my daily challenges. I know that I will be sustained by His grace alone. Win or lose, succeed or fail – these are not the economics of the kingdom of God. His measure of success is a humble, obedient spirit that hears His voice and then responds to it.

“God looks down from heaven
 on all mankind
 to see if there are any who understand, any who seek God.” (Psalm 53:2, NIV)

God is looking for people with responsive and willing hearts. Why not offer yours to Him this Wednesday?

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: Daniel, Old Testament, Psalm

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “ADDICTED TO WORK!”


  1. You hit this one out-of-the-park!!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like


Leave a Reply

