WHO’S GOT YOUR BACK?

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
 and when you pass through the rivers, 
they will not sweep over you.
 When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; 
the flames will not set you ablaze.” (Isaiah 43:2, NIV)

If you are like me, you spend a lot of your time dealing with adversity. In the business world, it seems like everyone is trying to get a piece of you. Very rarely do they want to get together to let you know that you are doing a great job. People generally don’t call to give you praise. When they call, they need something. Most of the time they are calling to complain or to ask a favor.

“Why did you do it that way? Wouldn’t it be better if you did it my way?” Who told you to do it like that? This is all wrong; I need you to do it over! Can you come to my office so we can discuss this?”

It often seems that we move from one crisis to another, never finding peace or comfort in any of the work we do. It feels like we are passing from one river into another, from one fire into a hotter one.

Today was an exception for me. I had a meeting with a Christian business owner who expressed an interest in outsourcing some of his work. We were talking about how employers tend to overwork their employees, keeping their overhead to a minimum. In doing so, however, these companies tend to burn their employees out which results in disappointing performance and poor morale. He acknowledged that he called me because he knew that I have a relationship with Christ. He knows that by outsourcing his work to me, I will treat his company with integrity and that I will work for him as if I am working for Christ. He understands that when things get tough, I will turn to the Lord for help.

This meeting came about because of something very simple. Under my signature on all of my emails is a link: “Working for Christ”, which brings the reader to this little blog.

Since I am “Working for Christ”, I now have to live for Christ! I will continue to go through many raging rivers and numerous fiery coals, but I will never be swept away or set ablaze – the Lord is with me! He’s got my back!

Enjoy your Wednesday, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: Isaiah, Old Testament

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “WHO’S GOT YOUR BACK?”


  1. Your Devotions keep getting better and better!!!! Take Care my Friend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  2. Daniel Undem Says:

    Congrats on the referral and keep up the great work. Really enjoy reading your blog every day.

    Like

  3. terribell85 Says:

    BRAVO!! Congratulations!! It’s so great when others appreciate what you have to offer them!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

