HAS YOUR JOB BECOME AN IDOL?

“Of what value is an idol carved by a craftsman? Or an image that teaches lies? For the one who makes it trusts in his own creation; he makes idols that cannot speak. Woe to him who says to wood, ‘Come to life!’ Or to lifeless stone, ‘Wake up!’
 Can it give guidance? It is covered with gold and silver; there is no breath in it.” (Habakkuk 2:18-19, NIV)

I’ve told parts of this story before.

There was a time in my life when I felt invincible. I was several years into my career. My job was the most important thing in my life. I was earning a better than average income, had a company car, an expense account, health benefits, a retirement account, prestige, and I was on the “move”, up the corporate ladder. I was self-made. Most importantly I had made it on my own – with no help from anyone else.

I was the craftsman. I had created an idol, and that is where I placed my trust.

As I look back, it’s no surprise that my first marriage ended in divorce. That didn’t really bother me because it gave me the opportunity to spend more time at work. My work became who I was.

It didn’t take long to realize that my work was meaningless without someone to share my life. I met my current wife of thirty years quite accidentally (right?). She taught me the meaning of love, grace, and compassion. She would never admit it, but she’s responsible for leading me to the Lord.

For the first time in my life, I realized that my job wasn’t me. I hadn’t accomplished anything on my own. I couldn’t accomplish anything without the help of our Savior. I realized that my job couldn’t speak to me – it was lifeless. It was covered with gold and silver, but it had no breath! For the first time, I realized that my job was a gift from God, to be used by Him to bring Him glory.

That’s what “Working for Christ” is all about – using the gifts God has given each of us to bring Christ into the workplace – not as an idol, but as a living being capable of transforming lives for His Kingdom.

Have a blessed Monday, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: Habakkuk, Old Testament

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

