WHO’S DRIVING YOU?

“For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also”. (Luke 12:34, NIV)

Clearly many Americans (mostly men) display their value systems in their automobiles. For many this attitude probably started in high school, when a teenager’s popularity is partly determined by the car he or she drives. Someone driving by a high school today would have no difficulty determining the student parking lot and the teachers’. The student lot is filled with Z-cars, S-cars, Corvettes, and on and on. The cars in the teachers’ lot look like cast-offs from a bargain-basement auto sale.

I’m not judging anyone. The kind of car you drive is between you and the Lord. But I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that giving to the Lord needs to take priority over the kind of car we are driving. If not, we may need to re-assess where we are spending our time and our money.

I appreciate the higher-priced cars because of their performance, but I won’t buy a new car because of the lost value the minute you drive it off the lot. A couple of years ago, my wife and I were going to buy a “new” used car since the one I was driving was in a minor little accident (I totaled it). I read the Consumer Reports and felt confident that we would find a nice Honda or Toyota that would meet our needs.

My wife’s primary need in a car is that it must have a dual temperature control system – one for the driver and one for the passenger. Neither Honda nor Toyota offered that option in the models we were considering. So she began to pray that the Lord would provide a car with a dual temperature control system, and I began asking the Lord to make her content with a nice little Honda or Toyota. Our son informed us that his car, an Infiniti, offered the option she wanted. However, the price of an Infiniti was a bit more than that of the smaller cars I was considering, so I said, “No way.”

Apparently, the Lord doesn’t understand “no way”. My son called the next morning and told us he had found a nice, one-owner, 2005 G-35 on Craig’s List for the price I was willing to pay. It’s no Jaguar or Maserati, but it sure keeps my wife’s toes nice and warm, and it keeps me as cool as a cucumber.

It helps to understand that God owns it all, and He knows exactly where to find it. The fact that my wife and I each went to Him in prayer, over something so seemingly ridiculous as a car, showed Him that we treasure Him above everything else.

Where is your treasure? Spend a little time in prayer this Wednesday and find out who’s driving you.

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: Luke, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “WHO’S DRIVING YOU?”

  1. wordsaver Says:

    There was a priest who was driving the very best expensive and long lasting car, He was by everybody who needed him in a moment and he’s done a lot of duties, thanks to that car. Only, I cannot explain children , they do not believe me when they see a priest in the car like that. People do not think like that.

    Like


  2. Whoever said God doesn’t care about the smallest details in our lives? 🙂 I love how God provided for both your wife and yourself! We just purchased a used car after prayer for provision and direction and He answered our prayers beautifully by providing a car that is both reliable and affordable. When we put Him first He is faithful to provide for all our needs (not greeds) and I am so grateful He does!

    Like


Leave a Reply

