LOST IN SUCCESS!

“Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.” (Colossians 3:2, NIV)

Some of us grew up according to the following logic: “You need to do well in school so you can go to college and become a professional. Then when you become successful, you will earn a lot of money, you’ll meet your future wife, and you won’t have any more worries. Life will be perfect; just as you had planned.”

I actually bought into that line of thinking. I became a successful business person and earned a lot of money. Unfortunately life wasn’t perfect. I had more problems than I could count. My life was not the one I had planned. I really wasn’t as successful as I thought. In fact, I was “lost” in my success.

It was years later that I finally began to understand: Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. Because of these, the wrath of God is coming. You used to walk in these ways, in the life you once lived. But now you must also rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips. Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.” (Colossians 3:5-10, NIV)

I began to change my way of thinking. I started to focus on Christ and on the Word of God. I wasn’t lost any more. I had a new life. I began to clothe myself “with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience”. (Colossians 3:12, NIV)

I have learned to “forgive as the Lord forgave”. (Colossians 3:13, NIV)

And, I have learned the true meaning of “love, which binds all of these virtues together.” (Colossians 3:14, NIV)

I don’t have a big, beautiful home, an expensive car, or a huge bank account. Yet I am extremely successful! I have found the Lord! He lives in me!

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

“Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: Colossians, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “LOST IN SUCCESS!”

  1. davidbergsland Says:

    Success in life is based on a single, simple fact. Do you know Jesus personally? If you can answer that in the affirmative, you’re doing very well indeed.

    Like


  2. Oh so true! You can have everything else and be sooo unhappy but when we have Christ and live in intimacy with Him all the rest loses it’s shine! Great post, thank you!

    Like


  3. You stopped me dead in my tracks with this Post…. this is an awesome testimony my friend. I recon I have a tear in my coffee this morning! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  4. Glenda Mills Says:

    Thanks for liking my post today…”My Mother’s Heart”. I have to say I like your website. You are right…the most successful life is to be found by Christ and walk with Him. Keep on writing for Him.

    Like


Leave a Reply

