FIX YOUR EYES ON JESUS!

“But I tell you that anyone who is angry with a brother or sister will be subject to judgment.” (Matthew 5:22, NIV“In your anger do not sin: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.” (Ephesians 4:26-27, NIV)

At one time, I worked for a large corporation. There were all types of people employed there. There was this one guy in particular that really stands out in my mind. I’ll call him, Tom. Tom was always late for work. He was never ready for meetings. He constantly missed deadlines. His lunch hour rarely was an hour (it was more like two). And, almost every day, there was an emergency that caused Tom to leave work early. Yet for some strange reason, my boss thought the world of him! Although we held the same “title”, Tom made more money than me, and he received his promotion three months before I received mine. Perhaps I was just jealous of Tom. For sure this whole situation made me angry! Tom made me angry because of the way he was treating his job. He made me angry because of the way he was treating our boss. And he made me angry because he didn’t show any respect for anyone who was trying to do things the “right” way!

It took some time for me to realize that this whole situation really wasn’t my concern. As aggravating as it might have seemed at the time, I shouldn’t have allowed any other person to affect me that way. God wants us to take our eyes off of others and place them directly on Him. Any anger we feel toward others only hurts ourselves. When we allow these things to bother us, we are getting in the way of our own relationship with Christ. My anger toward Tom was not allowing me to grow spiritually. In fact, it was hindering me and causing me to distance myself from the Lord. It was giving the devil a foothold on my life!

Here’s what the Bible says:

… let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus …” (Hebrews 12:1-2, NIV)

When we fix our eyes on Jesus, they won’t be fixed on the guy in the office who is getting us so upset. They won’t be fixed on anything that will hinder our relationship with our Savior or allow the devil to get a foothold on our lives.

Fix your eyes on Jesus this Monday. Give Him your anger and, in return, He will give you His love, peace, joy, and so much more!

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Hebrews, Matthew, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “FIX YOUR EYES ON JESUS!”

  1. davidbergsland Says:

    Excellent post! I think one of the reasons the Lord has us spread out so thinly in the world [aside from the scarcity of believers] is the opportunities which He can provide us in that environment to help our growth into maturity. Your advice seems right onto me.

    Like


  2. I now the “Tom” personality and I know the anger that can be kindled in an office with him in it!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like


  3. *sigh*… thank you… I think *grin*… I was all set to wallow in my anger and now I have to rethink that attitude. *hugs*…luv khrys…

    Like


  4. […] and check comments and such. Today was no different. God is so gracious. This post from Work4Christ was waiting. I had to laugh and kick my own behind. God never waits long to rebuke, […]

    Like


  5. […] Fix Your Eyes on Jesus! (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


  6. […] Fix Your Eyes on Jesus! (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


  7. […] Fix Your Eyes on Jesus! (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  8. Kerry Stith Says:

    Thank you for this post! It was personally very timely for me, I have my own “Tom.”

    Like


Leave a Reply

