SOMETIMES I FORGET!

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” (Philippians 4:6, NIV)

(photo courtesy of http://www.hoplessdomestic.blogspot.com)

For the past couple of years I have worked from my office in my home. Today was an exception. One of my customers asked me to spend the day in his office and help him “streamline” several of his estimating and project management worksheets.

When I agreed to spend the day with him, I had completely forgotten what it was like to commute to work. I left home about 7:30 a. m. so I could get to his office by 8:00 a. m. (about a ten-mile drive). Traffic was horrendous! I was amazed at the way morning commuters disrespect one another – cutting each other off without warning, switching lanes without signaling, honking their horns the second a light turns green, and flipping the “bird” to anyone and everyone that gets in their way!

At about 8:00 a. m., I had traveled about two miles. I pulled into McDonald’s and ordered an Egg McMuffin and a diet coke. I received a McGriddle and a regular coke. When I asked the young woman at the drive-thru window to straighten it out for me, the guy behind me started honking his horn and shouting obscenities out of his window. I smiled and waved at the guy, but he really wasn’t interested in my pleasantries. He continued to honk and make obscene gestures until I left the drive-thru about five minutes later.

I got on the expressway expecting to make up lost time. No such luck! About a mile down the road, traffic was at a standstill. A semi had flipped over causing a major traffic jam. We were down to one lane for about four miles. Everyone on the road was frustrated and short-tempered. I can only imagine what some of these people were saying and thinking. All they were trying to do was to get to work on time.

I finally arrived at my destination at about 9:00 a. m. I was a nervous wreck! My customer (a Christian) took one look at me a calmly said, “Before we get started, would you like to pray?”

“Would I like to pray? Wow! What a wonderful suggestion! Yes, I’d love to pray!”

So we prayed. The time spent getting to his office was completely forgotten. My anxiety was gone. Those few minutes spent in prayer eliminated all the frustrations of that earlier hour and a half. I took a deep, cleansing breath. I was finally ready to give my day over to the Lord!

You may not be as fortunate as I was to have someone willing to pray with you as you begin your work day, but you have the power within you to seek out the Lord on your own. Don’t allow yourself to be frustrated for an hour and a half without asking God to help you.

I just wish I had spent five minutes with Him prior to leaving my house! I completely forgot!

(photo courtesy of http://www.iprayerm.com)

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Related Articles:

Explore posts in the same categories: New Testament, Philippians

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “SOMETIMES I FORGET!”

  1. garden2day Says:

    Oh, so rare a jewel is the one who will shoulder you and offer a prayer! You are truly blessed!

    Like


  2. When I get into my car and head off to work, I turn on a Christian radio station and turn the volume UP and enjoy the praise and worship!!!! Take Care my Friend and have a Blessed Day 🙂 Kenny T

    Like


  3. Wow, I had to laugh as you explained your drive in!! That’s quite the start to a day! 🙂 Thanks for reminding us how much we need to seek the Lord when we start our day.

    Like

  4. Marni Says:

    Thank-you for the reminder! I had a morning tha involved similar feelings of your commute and I wish I had remembered sooner to turn to prayer.

    Like


Leave a Reply

