THE RESULTS ARE IN!

“But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.” (Joshua 24:15 NIV)

I wasn’t going to write about the election results this week because there are so many great bloggers out there that have this subject covered. But when I opened the Word to start my devotion, Joshua 24:15 was www.biblegateways.com‘s “Verse of the Day”. Just maybe the Lord is speaking to me. I pray that He will speak to each of us through His Word.

Over the past couple of days, I’ve watched people (Christians and non-Christians) on both sides of the fence crying their eyes out because their candidate didn’t win. I heard one guy say, “The world is doomed!”  Another, “The end is near!” And I heard another person say, “Christianity is a sham – or Christ would have made Romney president.”

Really? Are you kidding me? Are we really that gullible or naïve to think that Barack Obama or Mitt Romney can save the world or keep it safe from Satan and all of his little demons?

Barack Obama and Mitt Romney are human beings just like you and me. They make the very same mistakes that we do. Like us, they both claim to be Christians. Who are we to judge either one of them? Do we know what goes on in either of their minds when only God is looking? Don’t we have faith that “all things work together for good to those who love the Lord”? (Romans 8:28, NIV)

We live in a free country. God gives us free will. We are free to make our own choices. Collectively, whether we like it or not, we have chosen another four years with a man (Barack Obama) to lead our government. We have not chosen Mr. Obama (nor would we have chosen Mitt Romney) to lead our lives!

“As for me and my household, we will serve the Lord!”

Enjoy your Thursday, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Joshua, New Testament, Old Testament, Romans

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “THE RESULTS ARE IN!”

  1. Lyn Leahz Says:

    For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.
    http://lynleahz.com/2012/11/07/the-sacrifice-of-praise-a-gentle-reminder/

    Like

  2. garden2day Says:

    No matter who is leading our country we should all know who is really leading our lives and for me, it is not the person leading our country; it is Jesus Christ. Very nicely said. Thank you. 😀

    Like

  3. Jim Currie Says:

    My “commander and chief” is NOT of this earth and he surely does not reside at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue!

    Like

  4. lifeofaministermom Says:

    Very well said! My trust always remains in the Lord, and I hope we have not forgotten the important role we believers have and that we continue to pray for our leaders!!

    1 Timothy 2:1-4 (NKJV)

    Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, 2 for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence. 3 For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior, 4 who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.

    God bless!

    Patricia

    Like


Leave a Reply

