I’VE BEEN MADE NEW!

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths …” (Ephesians 4:29, NIV)

“Unbelievable! I can’t believe I am really me!” If you knew the “old” me, you’d say the same thing. Let me explain. I used to be as grumpy as grumpy can be. The words that came out of my mouth would make a sailor cringe. I was quick-tempered, disrespectful, and oftentimes quite rude. I wasn’t about to let anyone take advantage of me. If they tried, they would get an earful of my wrath. I had very little time for anyone except myself. I honestly felt that I couldn’t change – I really didn’t want to. That was the way God made me – take it or leave it! Most people just left it.

A couple of weeks ago, one of my customers paid me by credit card. It took a few days to be processed and deposited into my checking account. I thought everything was fine. Then, a couple of days later, I noticed that the deposit had been reversed. The accountant (in my customer’s office) didn’t recognize my name and thought someone had charged something fraudulently. He cancelled the transaction and reported the card stolen. Then, last week that same customer wrote me a check. I deposited it on Monday, reviewed my account on Friday morning, and realized the check had been returned for non-sufficient funds! “What in the world is going on?” I thought. “This couldn’t be a coincidence; they must be upset with me!” was my second thought.

Then I remembered what Paul had said to the Ephesians:Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” (Ephesians 4:31-32, NIV)

I picked up the phone, called my customer, and calmly discussed the situation with him. He explained and I understood what had happened. I asked if we could get together over a cup of coffee and talk about it. We met at a local diner, had coffee, and a pleasant conversation.

This customer has known me for about thirty years. He’s well aware of the “old” me. In fact, he was expecting the “old” me to show up at the diner. To his surprise, the “new” me showed up. I was able to explain to him how Christ has changed my attitude and my life. He was astounded and wanted to hear more. We spent about an hour together talking about our Savior. We made plans to meet every other Friday, at the same little diner, to spend a little time in the Word.

I am truly amazed at the way God used me, especially considering the circumstances! He knew exactly what He was doing when He made the grumpy, “old” me! He was preparing me for a time that I could share Christ’s love in a way that would be believable to an unbeliever!

Don’t ever think that your work doesn’t matter to God! If He was able to use me in such a powerful and deliberate way, He can definitely use you! Get to know Him a little better this week. Find a way to bring Him the glory!

(photo courtesy of web.delsolchurch.com)

Enjoy your Monday, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Ephesians, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “I’VE BEEN MADE NEW!”

  1. garden2day Says:

    Such a great testament. It is all how we see things and if we them through God’s eyes 😀 . May your day be so blessed!

    Like


  2. Your testimony is a great reminder of how God knew what He was doing when He called us just as we were!

    Like


  3. Good one!!!! I used to work for a guy that was like the old you!!! It wasn’t easy, but it made a better man out of me. I became stronger in my work practices and I learned how not to manage people…. That guy eventually became a best Friend. Again this is a great post!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like


  4. […] I’ve Been Made New! (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


  5. […] I’ve Been Made New! (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

