HE’S CLOSER THAN YOU THINK!

“And He is not served by human hands, as if He needed anything. Rather, He himself gives everyone life and breath and everything else.” (Acts 17:25, NIV)

“God healed me.” I wasn’t feeling well, so I went to the doctor. The nurse ran some tests, the lab technicians identified the problem, the doctor wrote a prescription, I got it filled at the pharmacist, and in no time I was feeling better. But, it was still God who healed me. He did it through the medical vocations.

(photo by ellenwhite.info)

“God spoke to me.” During his sermon, the pastor was reading God’s Word. It made me realize just how sinful I am. Then, he taught me how Christ had done everything for my salvation and that I have been forgiven through Him. God spoke to me through the vocation of the pastor.

“God fed me” with dinner from the local diner. “God clothed and sheltered me” with the paycheck I earn at my job. “God protected me” by using the highway patrolman to get me to slow down. “God gave me pleasure”; thanks to the talents He gave the musician playing on Spotify.

We most often think of God in supernatural terms, as someone with magical powers living light years away, not someone so close to home. We’ve been taught that God works in mysterious ways, not in ordinary ways. If He is going to heal us, we expect something spectacular – a miraculous rising from the wheelchair or hospital bed, something that doctors can’t explain. Sometimes this happens, but usually He heals us through the medical profession – they, too, are His servants. When we say,  “God spoke to me”, we immediately think the clouds opened, the sky became white as snow, and this huge voice came thundering down. But, most often He uses one of His servants, a pastor or missionary, to teach us His Word.

For most people, God is not part of this world. He is either “far above” the everyday world or He is deep “inside us.” The world, we assume, runs pretty much without too much outside interference. The truth is, God indeed transcends His creation, but He also governs it. “He Himself gives everyone life and breath and everything else,” says the apostle Paul. “God did this so that they would seek Him and perhaps reach out for Him and find Him, though He is not far from any one of us. For in Him we live and move and have our being.” (Acts 17:27-28, NIV)

Enjoy your Thursday, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Acts, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “HE’S CLOSER THAN YOU THINK!”

  1. garden2day Says:

    Very true. I think we tend to put limits on God in our daily lives but expect big, dramatic miracles when we “want.” I think when we notice our blessings and become so appreciative, it helps us to see God — He is here. Thank you.

    Like


Leave a Reply

