THE POWER OF PRAYER!

“ … pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:17-18, NIV)

time with god

(photo credit – gatheringplacechurch.org)

I often feel a bit guilty when it comes to the amount of time I spend with God. Having said that, I haven’t given up on praying for my customers.

A couple of years ago, I was involved in a bible study discussing “Miracles in the Workplace”. Like most people, I was somewhat skeptical about miracles actually occurring at my job. However, I prayed and asked the Lord to offer a miracle in my life.

Later that week, I met with one of my customers at my favorite lunch spot. As we talked, I was expecting to discuss normal business issues. However, before I could say a word, he asked, “How can I know more about Jesus?”

I was taken back because, quite honestly, he was the last person I would have expected to ask me that question. We spent the next hour sharing thoughts about what it means to follow Christ or to follow the world. We decided to meet weekly and to continue our conversation. I also began praying for him every day.

To make a long story short, a few months later he accepted the Lord and is now serving Him with all his heart. Although God used me in a special way, He was already at work in this person’s life. I was just an avenue that was made available because of prayer.

This experience taught me to always keep praying. It taught me the importance of being the “salt and light” that God asks us to be in this world.

“You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.” (Matthew 5:13-14, NIV)

salt and light 2

(photo credit – seekingstillness.org)

When we remain faithful to God, He will use us right where we are to make a difference in this world. As you spend a little time with God this week, make sure you pray for those people you work with. You can make a difference in someone’s life just by being in the right place at the right time.

Enjoy your Monday, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: 1 Thessalonians, Matthew, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “THE POWER OF PRAYER!”

  1. garden2day Says:

    Fantastic!!! Answered prayerS AND miracles 🙂 . What a great witness and a reminder that we can be where we are supposed to be if only we give God a chance. Have a great week! 😀 Dave…goosebumps…wow!

    Like

  2. shadowlilies Says:

    Love miracle stories like this! 🙂

    Like


  3. […] The Power of Prayer! (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  4. robind333 Says:

    Great post and thank you for the link to my site…Many, many blessings to you…Robin

    Like

  5. dhackdheolu Says:

    The need to pray versus the slumber than comes with the decision to pray. Thank God for His grace

    Like


Leave a Reply

