WHERE IS YOUR CAPERNAUM?

“ … the people living in darkness have seen a great light;
on those living in the land of the shadow of death a light has dawned.” (Matthew 4:16, NIV)

light has dawned

Jesus came to bring light into a darkened world. After John had announced His arrival and Satan had tested His convictions, Jesus was ready to begin His public ministry.

But where would He begin? Should He begin In Jerusalem, the capital of the nation? Perhaps He should start in Samaria, a hotbed of unrest? Better yet, why not begin His ministry in Nazareth, His hometown?

The answer just may surprise you!

Capernaum was the place Christ chose to begin His ministry.

Capernaum was in a despised region of the land of Palestine known as “Galilee of the Gentiles.” Foreign invaders had overrun this part of the country. It had become known as “the region of the shadow of death.”

He didn’t begin His ministry where people were least likely to need it. Instead, Jesus began His teaching where the people needed Him most – where the people lived in darkness – in the region of the shadow of death.

When you shine a light into an already lighted room, nothing changes. Shine that same light into a dark room, and you have shattered the darkness.

For each of us, Capernaum may be as near as our neighborhood, school, or office.

Who do you know that lives in darkness? Which friends, neighbors, or co-workers are in need of the Light? Wherever the Light needs to penetrate, there is your Capernaum!

prayer

Enjoy your Tuesday, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Matthew, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “WHERE IS YOUR CAPERNAUM?”


  1. A very good word! Thank you.

    Like


  2. This is like drinking a cup of coffee almost to the bottom where the grounds have settled. We throw that part out….. OK, I’m just thinkin…. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like


  3. Believe it or not, my Capernaum is the religious community. Several years ago I heard Tim Keller speak. I then read his book The Prodigal God. Through Tim’s spoken words and written words God let me know that my particular ministry is to the older brother (the rule follower who thinks he is doing everything right), not the younger brother (the one who knows he messed up and asks his father for forgiveness).

    My ministry is rooted in my life experiences.

    “When I practiced religion, I was trying, on my own power, to be good by following the rules. I was afraid of what would happen to me if I didn’t follow the rules. I was chronically scared and unsure of myself, always feeling like I could not measure up, that I hadn’t done enough. I did not understand the difference between being religious and being spiritual. Joyce Meyer helped me to understand this difference in her teaching series, Religion or Relationship. In that teaching, she defined religion as ‘man’s ideas of God’s expectations’ and went on to say that ‘religion is rules and regulations. It’s all the things you have to do to be acceptable to God.’ She also stated that religious people ‘do works for the wrong reasons, not out of relationship,’ where spiritual people are ‘responsive to and controlled by the Holy Spirit.’ It took me a long time to grasp the difference between being religious and being spiritual. When I did finally understand this difference and began to act out of this new understanding, I was set free from fear. My freedom came from knowing that I no longer needed to follow religious rules set by human beings. I was free to do what God told me to do, allowing myself to be led by his Spirit who lives inside me. The Apostle Paul told the same thing to the church in Galatia when he said, ‘…when you are directed by the Spirit, you are not under obligation to the law of Moses’ (Galatians 5:18). When I let go of religion and embraced relationship, I began to relax and actually enjoy my life and like myself. My experiences led me to believe that religion equals fear, and relationship equals peace. “

    Like

  4. garden2day Says:

    Lately and hopefully each day from now on, mine is each person I meet 😀 . Great post!!! Take care!!!

    Like

  5. Brook Says:

    Excellent post about the difference light makes…but only in darkness. *Thank you.*

    Like


  6. […] Where Is Your Capernaum? (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

