IT’S TIME TO CHANGE EMPLOYERS!

I realize a lot of people in the workplace simply hate their jobs. If you are one of them, here is a bit of advice – change employers. That’s right – just change employers, today – right now! But, you say, “Jobs are hard to find; I can’t just change jobs like that.” I didn’t say change jobs; I said change employers.

Hate Your Job

(photo credit – sodahead.com)

Paul wrote to the Colossians: “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters.” (Colossians 3:23, NIV)  Did you know you can change employers without changing jobs? Just say, “I no longer work for my old company or my old boss. I now work for the Lord.”

As you go through your day, keep telling yourself: “I work for Jesus now. I have to be careful how I act. I have to watch my attitude because I now report to a new manager. I report to Jesus Christ.”

I don’t care how tough your job is or how much you dislike it. If you work for Christ, if you consider Him your boss, if you continually remind yourself that He will reward you if you do a good job, you can be content right where you are – in the job you dislike.

This doesn’t mean that every day is going to be great or without stress. There will still be tough times and difficult situations to deal with. But once you see that God has a purpose for you right where you are, going to work won’t be so painful any more. Once you gain an eternal perspective of your job, your attitude will change.

Maybe the problem is you’ve been working for yourself. I’m not talking about being self-employed; I’m talking about working for your own selfish reasons and purely for self-advancement. When you work for yourself, you’re working for money, advancement, power, recognition – and that is a self-centered, selfish way to work. You could be your own worst boss!

So, if you’ve been working for an “earthly person”, including yourself, you’ve been working for the wrong boss. Make this biblical principle a reality in your life – don’t work for people or money or a company, work for Jesus! You can be content in a job you dislike if you’re working for the right Person.

Work for Jesus

(photo credit – communityforchrist.tumblr.com)

Enjoy your Wednesday, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Colossians, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

35 Comments on “IT’S TIME TO CHANGE EMPLOYERS!”


  1. I like this one a lot!!!! four cups and they all have the wonderful grounds in the bottom (LOL) Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  2. garden2day Says:

    Some of the best advice I have heard! Have a great day and take care! 😀 – Amy

    Like


  3. Very, very nice. Thank you.

    Like


  4. Very ingenious way to present a timeless truth we all need to hear.
    Thank you so much for the reminder.

    Like

  5. tdmannn Says:

    You’ve got an awesome blog!

    Like

  6. bernasvibe Says:

    **OOoo I like! I love my job though & everything about it. However one could use this mindset when doing anything that is deemed to be an awful chore. Great concept & very glad you shared. Stay UPlifted & blessed

    Like

    • Dave Boller Says:

      Thanks for re-blogging this Berna! I appreciate it. 🙂

      Like

      • bernasvibe Says:

        **My pleasure..When it is something that good I’ve GOT to re-blog it to keeeeep it going. I just learned how to re-blog lol! I’m still quite new here..Took me almost a month just to learn how to navigate my way around…but I’m getting there. Going check now to see if I added you this morning so I can stay updated..

        Like

  7. ena Says:

    a little nudge from God, as I prepare to lead worship followed by a congregational meeting that is a follow up meeting to one that went horribly wrong. Here’s hoping things go better today. And may I be reminded no matter how tempted I am to scream….(INWARDLY OF COURSE) that I work for God and that this congregation is filled with God’s people.

    Like


  8. THANK YOU, I really needed to be reminded of this fact. I know God placed me where he wants me, the job I hold. I love my job and helping customers, but I have been struggling with the thieves, that steal for I know it is the honest individuals who pay for the lose, as prices sky rocket. Course I also know, this is only a part of the reason for raising prices. May I place all these struggles in Gods hands knowing He is the answer as hearts change. May Christ walk amongest us.

    Like

  9. AR Neal Says:

    Reblogged this on One Starving Activist and commented:
    Working for self includes finite enjoyment. Working for someone else often has even less. But keeping in mind that we come from Greater Sources helps make any work–even work we dislike–much more fulfilling.

    Like

  10. Ohpeekay Says:

    Thank you so much. I really needed to hear this…

    Like

  11. Glenda Mills Says:

    This can also apply to working on relationships, marriage, friends, family. Learning to see them through the eyes of Jesus, whom we live for gives a new perspective and helps us remember, we live to please Him and he can take care of the relationship.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  12. dhackdheolu Says:

    Hmm, this is certainly an advice I should subscribe to…thank you and God bless.

    Like


  13. I agree and I have to constantly remind myself that I am working for the most wonderful king: Jesus Christ!

    Like

  14. Deidra Riggs Says:

    So much can be changed by a small shift in perspective. Thanks for this. (Found you through TheHighCalling.org.)

    Like


Leave a Reply

