A LAMB AMONG WOLVES!

“The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field. Go! I am sending you out like lambs among wolves.” (Luke 10:2-3, NIV)

lamb among wolves

(photo credit – istockphoto.com)

Just exactly where is Jesus’ “harvest field”? To answer that question, stop right where you are and take a look around. You’re right in the middle of it – exactly where Christ wants you, right now!

Our places of employment belong to Jesus. Many of our co-workers, clients, bosses, and other associates seem to be like wolves – waiting to devour us and bring us down. Sometimes they tempt us to stop by the bar after work and join them for happy hour. Other times they demand that we work late, keeping us from our families and our loved ones. They like to share coarse jokes and profanity. Infidelity and sex often dominate their conversations. There is little regard for someone to share the love of the Lord! But Christ has placed you right in the middle of all that!

There was a time when I would join them for happy hour, or work late, laugh at off-color jokes, and spread profanity like a sailor. That was the easy thing to do. I became accepted and was part of the clique. My marriage began to fall apart and my life was in shambles. Then, I began to develop a relationship with the Lord. I realized that I was responsible for bringing others down. I was one of the “wolves” that Jesus was referring to in Luke 10:3.

I needed to make some changes. I had the ability to choose my destiny – I could choose to be a wolf or I could choose to be one of Christ’s lambs. Although I try my hardest to be a faithful worker, the wolf in me shows his ugly head on occasion. However, as my relationship with Christ grows, I see less of the wolf and more of the lamb in me.

Each of us has a responsibility to those around us. We are living in Christ’s “harvest field”. We are to be His lambs – our jobs are to tame the wolves that live and work right beside us. We do that when the Holy Spirit is living within us! Ask God to fill you with His Spirit this Tuesday. Begin to tame just one wolf at a time. You will be amazed with the results!

taming the wolf

(photo credit – tracystoneart.com)

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”

Explore posts in the same categories: Luke, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

32 Comments on “A LAMB AMONG WOLVES!”

  1. Ann Says:

    I have a job interview tomorrow @ 2:30pm. Would you be willing to pray for me?

    Like


  2. All I can say is WOW!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like


  3. Oh YES, quite lovely. The same goes here, the wolf in me appears now and then but has become less over the years, and I love being home with the lamb, but sometimes that requires becoming separated from the rest of the flock. I find though I can not tame the wolves in the field, but I can feed them. Love your posts, drinking at the well.

    Like


  4. Beautiful reminder to us all Dave! Another wonderful post!

    Like

  5. zanspence Says:

    Awesome. So true. I have recently stepped into a season where I’m not gossiping.

    Like

    • Dave Boller Says:

      That’s not easy to do – especially when everyone else is doing it! It’s human nature to want to know the “dirt” about everyone. And, it’s rewarding (at least to Satan) to be the one spreading the dirt! Keep it up – not gossiping, that is! God bless you! 🙂

      Like


  6. […] A Lamb Among Wolves! (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


  7. Hey Dave, if it’s OK with you, I’m going to re-blog on Sunday? Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  8. Mary Richard Says:

    Yes, you’re right. Don’t forget about the less aggressive wolves, the ones that keep you away from worship. Sunday morning soccer games, in our part of the country, Sunday Mardi Gras festivities, Sunday morning preparation for football games. All this is fine, as long as we plan ahead and worship at another time during the week. However, staying away from Sunday morning activities makes a strong witness! And we need to support one another both in the workplace, with all its temptations, and in our life within our community of worship. Thanks for your post! It’s support, itself!

    Like


  9. You can correctly guess that I have a Shepherd/sheep relationship with my Savior. I also collect anything “sheep” and have stuffed, knick knacks, coffee mugs, and a plethora of sheep things. No wolves; yet there are wolves in activity that catch us unaware and rough me up once in a while. This was a needful read.

    Like

  10. garden2day Says:

    So true. When we don’t act out our beliefs we choose to become enablers for others I think. It is difficult at first to break out of that comfort zone but it can be done–we just have to keep a constant vigilance. So inspirational as always! 🙂 Take care! 😀

    Like

  11. melvingaines Says:

    Reblogged this on Melvin Gaines and commented:
    Ministering to others requires sacrifice in the same way that Jesus did.

    Like

  12. Kim Says:

    May God richly bless and strengthen you as you seek to be His light in the workplace and advance His Kingdom……Shalom!….Kim

    Like


  13. Folks who didn’t earlier understand about your organization will now realize that your gym is surely an avid supporter on the nearby sports staff.

    Like

  14. Kurt Says:

    We are a gaggle of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with valuable information to
    work on. You have done an impressive job and our entire
    group can be thankful to you.

    Like


Leave a Reply

