IT’S SO EASY TO BECOME ANGRY!

“In your anger do not sin: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.” (Ephesians 4:26-27, NIV)

ANGER1

(photo credit – mortylefcoe.com)

It doesn’t take much to get me angry. I get upset when people cut me off in traffic. I get angry when I think I’m right and then my wife proves me wrong. I get irritated when someone tells me they’re going to do something and then they don’t do it. I get annoyed when I hear people gossiping about someone else. I get angry when gas was $3.25 on Friday (when I didn’t need it) and $3.45 on Monday, when I needed to fill my tank.

We live in an imperfect world that is presently controlled by the evil one. Consequently, we can find plenty of reasons to be upset, even angry, at our circumstances in general, and at our jobs in particular. However, anger gives the devil an opening into our lives. When we become angry we pose no threat to Satan. In fact, it gives him room to work – he thrives on our anger. Anger neutralizes our effectiveness because it is the opposite of grace, and grace is God’s remedy to the evil caused by sin.

So how do we keep from becoming angry? That’s a difficult question because we are human and anger is an emotion that is very difficult to control. When things happen – such as those I mentioned earlier – my first instinct is to “attack” the source of the problem. I turn red in the face and yell. However, that never seems to solve the problem! I’ve earned over time that a better solution is to take a deep breath, re-focus my energy on the Holy Spirit, and ask Him for guidance and grace. That response not only calms me, but it also attacks the devil before he can get a “foothold.”

I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to get my anger completely under control, but the key is to keep trying. To never give up! To stay focused on Christ! To model my life and my responses to the “world” after Him. He has defeated sin – my anger belongs to Him!

doverelease

(photo credit – chopra.com)

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Ephesians, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “IT’S SO EASY TO BECOME ANGRY!”


  1. Hey Dave, This is so true!!! Good one!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  2. cnhfaith Says:

    Reblogged this on Faith and commented:
    When we become angry we pose no threat to Satan. In fact, it gives him room to work – he thrives on our anger. Anger neutralizes our effectiveness because it is the opposite of grace, and grace is God’s remedy to the evil caused by sin.

    Like

  3. Keesha Says:

    “ITS SO EASY TO BECOME ANGRY! “Working for Christ”” was indeed
    a good article and thus I personally was pretty joyful to find
    the blog post. Thanks for your time,Tegan

    Like


Leave a Reply

