WHAT’S YOUR NAME?

I’m used to people getting my last name wrong. I find that difficult to understand since Boller seems to be an easy name to pronounce. It’s pronounced BOW-ler, but most people call me Dave BALL-er.

Name

Names are rather personal. We want others to know our name and to know the person behind that name. When they do, a relationship can develop. A friendship can grow.

The God of heaven also understands the importance of names. In fact, throughout scripture a person’s name is used as a sign of belonging – specifically, a sign of belonging to God. In Genesis, God renames Abram and Jacob to show they belong to Him. In Isaiah, God proves his commitment to His people by saying, “I have written your name on my hand.” (Isaiah 49:16 NCV) In the New Testament, Christ compares Himself to a loving Shepherd and says, “The sheep listen to the voice of the Shepherd. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.” (John 10:3 NCV)  And in Revelation, Jesus made a personal promise about heaven when He said, “Those who win the victory will be dressed in white clothes like them. And I will not erase their names from the book of life, but I will say they belong to me before my Father and before his angels.”  (Revelation 3:5 NCV)

Why is it important that God knows your name? Because it is a sign. It is a symbol. It is an indication that you belong to him.

Doesn’t it feel good to know that you belong?

Though there are many uncertainties in life, there is one thing you can be sure of. God knows your name. He has written it on His hand and sealed it upon His heart. He has spoken your name in love and inscribed it in the Book of Life. Your name is precious to Him because you are precious to Him. It is a sign that you belong.

“Don’t be afraid, because I have saved you. I have called you by name, and you are Mine.” (Isaiah 43:1, NCV)

isaiah 43_1

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Isaiah, John, New Testament, Old Testament, Revelation

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “WHAT’S YOUR NAME?”

  1. Rene Yoshi Says:

    I love the meanings of my names— reborn and good, righteous, splendid. It is a reminder that Christ, my Savior, has given me new life and His righteousness! \(^_^)/

    Like


  2. “you Are MINE” That is the best three words I have heard all day!!!! Border Line six cups…. Take Care my Friend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like


Leave a Reply

