HAVE A LITTLE MERCY!

“Shouldn’t you have had mercy on your fellow servant just as I had mercy on you?”  (Matthew 18:33, NLT)

Have you ever made a big mistake at work? Not a little “oops”, but a full-blown “oh no” kind of mistake? I have.

mistake

I wrote a proposal once to stucco the exterior of a mid-rise office building. Under the exclusions to our proposal, I wrote, “this price specifically includes all scaffolding, waterproofing, building wrap, and self-adhered membrane flashing.” Of course, I meant to exclude those items – they had a value of about $300,000.00. When the general contractor received my proposal, he called right away. “I’m sending a contract over to you this afternoon. Please sign it and bring it over to me personally”, he said. The contract, without my exclusions, was worth almost $2,000,000.00. I was excited, thinking I was about to secure a nice start for the new year. When the contract was delivered that afternoon, I began to review it. There in bold letters was my mistake, just as I had written it in my proposal, he included it in his contract, “This price specifically includes …” My heart sunk. I was about to cost my company about $300,000.00! I immediately got on the phone and called the general contractor. I stammered and stuttered and tried to explain my mistake.

“I meant to say ‘exclude” I told him, not ‘include’.”

After making me sweat for a while, he replied, “I know that. I just thought I’d teach you a lesson. There are a lot of dishonest people out there that would allow you to sign that contract without a second thought. I don’t want to be like that. I’m trying to build teamwork. I try to run my business according to the Golden Rule. The last thing in the world I want to do is to alienate you.”

Wow! I had just met someone in the business world that cared about someone other than himself. Amazingly I had met someone who understands the meaning of “mercy”. Twenty years later we are still friends and continue to do business together.

If you’ve ever received mercy, then you can understand the parable of the unmerciful servant (Matthew 18:21-35). You know how thankful you are to receive mercy and how important it is to extend it to others. It is part of the favor and grace that God has shown you, and it is a reflection of the favor and grace that you should show to others.

mercy

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Matthew, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “HAVE A LITTLE MERCY!”

  1. FlorK Says:

    Good sharing! Yes, mercy is the twin of grace and both of which God gives so liberally to us – favour undeserving. So that is how we ought to live and work for Christ.

    Like


  2. I needed to hear this today, LOL. Good one, thank you!

    Like

  3. Deena Siddle Says:

    We have to thank God for grace and mercy! Great story thanks for sharing.

    Like


  4. Absolutely wonderful Post!!!! That is what I call a Heart Attack moment!!!!! This is a Borderline six cuppa on the five cup scale!!! Take Care my Friend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like


Leave a Reply

