DO YOU WANT TO SEE GOD? GO GOLFING!

“Then God looked over all He had made, and He saw that it was very good!” (Genesis 1:31, NLT)

bay hill

(Photo Courtesy – arnoldpalmer.com)

Have you ever watched a golf tournament on television? Better yet, have you ever attended a professional golf tournament? My wife and I had tickets to Bay Hill (The Arnold Palmer Invitational) a couple of weeks ago and were in awe of the beauty of the course. The fairways were perfectly manicured, the sand traps were pristine, and the greens were absolutely perfect in every way. The same is true in Augusta for The Masters this week.

Man’s work to develop these golf courses coupled with the marvel of God’s creation can sometimes leave you breathless. My wife couldn’t get over the beauty at Bay Hill, commenting, “If you ever want to see God, you just have to go golfing.” How many guys wish their wives would accept that attitude on a Saturday morning?

The truth is, God has some pretty amazing talent.

As we examined the design and features of Bay Hill, we also realized that the work of the men and women involved in that process was also a thing of beauty. Their God-given talents were clear. Whether it was the groundskeeper who immaculately kept the grounds finely manicured, or Arnold Palmer, who makes this tournament possible, every person involved played a role in a creation of beauty that drew us a little closer to God that day.

Creative people in the workplace have always had my admiration. Although I don’t always understand or appreciate the beauty that others create, that doesn’t take away from the fact that, if done by using their God-given talents, it is very good in God’s sight.

If you are using God’s gifts to create, whether it’s a painting, a golf course, a blog, or even a spreadsheet, your work is beautiful in God’s eyes. Celebrate the fact that God has blessed you for being who you are!

you are beautiful

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Genesis, Old Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

27 Comments on “DO YOU WANT TO SEE GOD? GO GOLFING!”

  1. FlorK Says:

    Thank you for liking my poem, “Love, in the Shadow of the Eagle’. It is true that if in God we rest as He is with us through all things and for all time, we are assured of every good outcome, no matter what happens, because that is His promise.

    Like


  2. This is a very creative post and I love it!!!!! The Gifting part is so true and I believe you are showing your gift with “Working for Christ”!!! Take Care My Friend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  3. Lyn Says:

    It’s true, some of those golf courses are breathtaking in their beauty!
    Every time I watch golf on TV, I’m reminded of the time when, some years ago, our then senior pastor and two of the elders took the unsaved husband (we’ll call him Frank) of one of the women at church golfing. They were having a blast, except Frank, who grumbled (good naturedly) that the pastor must have had “help” because everything he did went like clockwork. Frank grumbled good naturedly at one point, “You’ve made that ball do everything but walk on water.” The very next ball, our pastor hit the ball into the water. But did it sink? Nooo, it skipped across the water, rolled up the slight hill and onto the green. The guys said the look on Frank’s face was priceless. And people say God has no sense of humour 😀

    Like

  4. kiwiskan Says:

    I’ll never think of a golf course in quite the same way again…

    Like

  5. cpkidd09 Says:

    I like your line of thinking here. Creativity and the ceiling of manifestation with hard-work shows God’s glory and allows us to reflect His radiant light upon the world.

    I write similar work, this is so encouraging.

    Like


  6. Thank you so much! I needed to hear that!

    Like


  7. Many years ago, my husband and I were vacationing in Monterey, CA. We were driving along the 17-mile drive, along the coastline. I kept pointing out the beautiful waves, and he couldn’t stop admiring the beautiful green of the golf courses! :-). We were both in awe of God’s creation!

    Like


  8. My sister is a chef for the Masters every year. As well I am going to go play golf this morning. Looking forward to seeing His beauty this morning. I have to drive over a long bridge to work in the mornings too and get to see His beautiful sunrises every morning as well. It fills me up completely.

    Like


  9. I’ll never understand the creating of a spreadsheet. I understand how they work once they are created and can even use them, but I cannot create one. On the other hand, my son-in-law, a gifted IT man creates them with ease. My daughter, his wife, has a hair bow making business. She makes sell-worthy beautiful bows. Me? Well, I attempt to write, and I can set a beautiful table for even just a brief lunch. Thank you so much for this lovely, (and short) blog today. I LIKE short, point-worthy writing.

    Like

  10. garden2day Says:

    Isn’t it true…and God is the Master…hmmmm. 🙂 It has been a pretty good week for the Masters…maybe not today with the rain (which is needed so much around here) but the beauty is to be enjoyed and God is to be thanked. I hope the visitors enjoyed and hopefully many of them realized how important a part God plays. 😀 Take care and have a great week! 😀 And, thank you for your comments.

    Like

    • Dave Boller Says:

      Augusta is beautiful, with or without the golf course. I absolutely love that part of the country. Every year we go to Savannah for my birthday. Perhaps we’ll be able to meet up somewhere. 🙂 Dave

      Like

      • garden2day Says:

        Haha.. Don’t tell the Augusta National members about Augusta 😀 and I would love to meet you and your wife sometime. Take care–I hope it is a great week! 🙂

        Like


  11. When my golf game is off, so is my connection to God. The game is such a great metaphor for life! Despite a beautiful course, when one is playing badly one does not see it. Thank you for a lovely post.

    Like

  12. mkesling63 Says:

    For the Gensis fans. What kind of God creates then says after 7 days it looks really good when dealing with humans? People just don’t work like that.

    Like


Leave a Reply

