GUT INSTINCT OR GOD INSTINCT?

“With their words, the godless destroy their friends, but knowledge will rescue the righteous.” (Proverbs 11:9, NLT)

proverbs 11_9

I honestly thought he was my friend. At least I thought he respected me. We had shared several long hours working together on the same project. We had even prayed for one another. When asked about his integrity and work ethic, I stood up for him, putting in a good word with the vice president of our company. I thought he was an upstanding, trustworthy person. Man, was I ever wrong!

He turned out not to be such a wonderful person after all. In fact, after he attained his new position, he turned on the others and me under his management. Wow! I didn’t see that one coming.

Have you ever been blindsided by someone? Did a coworker that you trusted turn out to be a “ratfink”? We’ve all been there. It hurts. And sometimes it hurts for a long time. But God is the healer of all hurts, and He cares about you. So if you’re hurting today, give it to God. Allow Him to mend your broken heart. And ask Him to give you better discernment in the future. Don’t trust your “gut instinct.” It’s faulty. Only trust your “God instinct.” It works every time.

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

religion2

Explore posts in the same categories: Old Testament, Proverbs

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “GUT INSTINCT OR GOD INSTINCT?”


  1. Another opportunity to display grace in action, we’ve all been there! Thank you for sharing this Dave!

    Like


  2. Hey Dave, it’s great to see back in action!!! This one is up there on the coffee scale…. Take Care my Friend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  3. Jay Moli Says:

    I have experienced this and honestly it really took a very long time before I have learned to truly forgive. Of all the places, God spoke to my spirit in the bathroom and I just felt that awesome peace. I don’t wanna forget that feeling and now I believe I am on my way to complete healing. 🙂

    Like


  4. You’re so right about this. I tended to trust other people, especially Christians, and I’ve been duped many times. Through many heartaches and headaches, I’ve learnt my lesson and now I’m extra careful. I always ask God for great discernment when it comes to people.
    My family and I have recently left our church home for 7 years because we finally realized the pastor was a far cry from the person we thought he was. Many of the hidden sins became overt sins, sins which, when confronted, he justified, of all things. It was very hard, but we had to break the tie.
    We have to analyse (and pray for revelation) whether the relationships we have are of the Spirit or of the flesh. Our souls become emotionally attached and we lose objectivity. That’s very dangerous. We may think we’re helping people when in fact we’re digging ourselves a grave. We may think it’s fellowship when it’s slowly becoming codependency, and we may find ourselves enabling a person who doesn’t really want to change.

    Like


    • So very true! It’s extremely difficult to find a church that really feels like home. Pastors are no different than we are – we are all sinners. We all need God’s grace and mercy to find our way. Stay focused on Christ; He’ll lead you in the right direction. God bless you! 🙂 Dave

      Like

  5. Deena Siddle Says:

    I work with my husband, so he sometimes can be a pain. God is always in control.

    Like

  6. garden2day Says:

    It is tough to act like we should when we are hurt and distrust but when we rely on Jesus completely, He will show us the way. 🙂

    I am so sorry to hear of more complications. Dave, I’m telling you that wasn’t the plan….get with the program… 😀 I’m teasing–well, not really–haha. Hope you are on the mend with no more setbacks–you hear? Take care of yourself!!!! 🙂

    Like

  7. mickholt Says:

    Thanks for pinging my post – our stories are similar. The important thing to remember is that people – all of us – will eventually let other people down. Maybe not intentionally but it will happen. God will never let us down. we might not see it right away – but he’ faithful.

    Like


Leave a Reply

