COVERED WITH GRACE!

“So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.” (Hebrews 4:16, NLT)

Grace Covers Me

Last night, my wife stole the blanket!  Or at least, that’s the way I saw it.

I woke up at 2 a.m. with cold legs and feet.  Finding them uncovered and thinking my wife had robbed me during the night, I gave the blanket a little tug – reclaiming the half granted to me in our marriage contract. Feeling warm and snug once again I settled in for the rest of the night.  That is, until I felt a tug back in the other direction.

My knees and toes were again suddenly exposed to the cool night air. I reached over and once again yanked the blanket back to my side of the bed. She retaliated. Before I knew it, the war was on.

“Why do you keep pulling the blanket away from me when you have so much of it?” my wife asked.

In the most patient half-asleep tone I could muster, I informed her that I had only one small corner of the blanket – barely enough to cover my toes. (Which, incidentally, were not covered.) “You’re cold because the rest of the blanket is up by your head,” she informed me. In the dim light of our bedroom I looked up toward my pillow and there was a large unused pile of blanket. She was right! “Oh, sorry,” I mumbled.  Feeling a bit silly I reached for the blanket realizing this little argument was my fault all along.

I have a knack for opening my mouth and saying whatever is on my mind. Most of the time, I don’t consider the consequences. I can recall way too many embarrassing lapses of judgment, selfish words I wish I never would have spoken, angry outbursts I’ve regretted, and obvious envy I should have avoided.

These and many other actions uncover the deep imperfections I try so hard to hide. When these carefully concealed faults are exposed, the result can be every bit as chilling as the absence of a blanket on a cool spring night.

While an exposed body may be easily remedied, an exposed soul is more difficult to cover. Covering an exposed soul is best accomplished through God’s wonderful gift of grace. Grace is simply God’s offering of forgiveness to those who don’t deserve it – like me. After all, I’m typically the source of my own embarrassing exposure.

In Romans 5:20 the Apostle Paul says, “God’s law was given so that all people could see how sinful they were. But as people sinned more and more, God’s wonderful grace became more abundant.”

His grace covers all faults. His acceptance warms the soul. His love brings new life. Nothing can be done to deserve it. But to all who ask, God graciously offers the warmth of His forgiveness and the covering of His grace. So why shiver in the cold confines of an exposed soul? God’s covering – His comforting grace is near!

Grace

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Inspired by ToddChobotar.com, Publisher and Editor-in-Chief at Florida Hospital, Orlando, FL

Explore posts in the same categories: Hebrews, New Testament, Romans

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

34 Comments on “COVERED WITH GRACE!”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Love this post and it’s truth! 🙂

    Like


  2. Love this post and it’s truth! 🙂

    Like

  3. Lyn Says:

    Ahhh the eternal Battle of the Blanket. Praise God we don’t have to do battle with Him for His grace and mercy.

    Like


  4. Good one!!!!! I’m going to re-blog Sunday…… Take care, get some rest and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  5. garden2day Says:

    I love it! 🙂 God’s grace…SMILES 🙂 🙂 . Nothing compares! Take care of yourself!!! 😀

    Like


  6. […] COVERED WITH GRACE!. […]

    Like


  7. Love this. Thank you and my God bless you.

    Like


  8. Reblogged this on maryhallrayford and commented:
    Thanks–I’m reblogging for my husband!

    Like

  9. kanyinsola Says:

    Yeah! Thank God we don’t! We re so undeserving of his grace… I can’t imagine how we’ll mesure up if we have to battle for his grace. 🙂

    Like

  10. ddclaywriter Says:

    Great points. We need grace personally and we get it from the Lord but we need to show it to others all of the time as well.

    Like

  11. coffeediva Says:

    What a beautiful post! Thank you 🙂

    Like

  12. Patty O Says:

    Reblogged this on A Thankfully Imperfect Woman and commented:
    And the answer to yesterday’s blog came…

    Like


  13. I, too, am grateful for God’s grace; especially in the Sacrament of Penance and Reconciliation. It is the such a healing experience to be reassured by one of His servants here on earth that He has truly forgiven us for our sins and most of all, that he loves us!

    Like


  14. Love this! Oh this blanket war doesn’t just happen in my home? Nice 🙂

    Like


  15. Reblogged this on Spicey morsels and commented:
    Love this!

    Like


  16. Great parallel. Thanks for sharing!
    \o/

    Like


Leave a Reply

