PLAN FOR THE UNEXPECTED!

“You can make many plans, but the Lord’s purpose will prevail.” (Proverbs 19:21, NLT)

planner

Are you a planner? Is your calendar neat and organized? Before you make additional plans, do you need to check your Blackberry or iPhone to make sure there are no scheduling conflicts? What happens if something unexpected occurs? Does it mess up your whole day or possibly your entire life?

Like many people, I like to plan my day, but I realize that ultimately I am not in control of the uncontrollable. We never know when emergencies may arise or when the Lord may call on us to serve Him in a way that we had not considered.

Looking at my calendar as I sat down to write this, I realize I don’t have any entries for the unexpected. Why? Because I don’t know what to expect. I don’t know when or where to squeeze these things into my busy day. I know they are going to occur, but when they do, how am I going to handle them? Am I going to freak out, or am I going to accept them and deal with them as they arise?

The most important plan to make today is to spend some time with the Lord! Instead of trying to plan your future, concentrate on the present and on the presence of our Savior. Let everything else be secondary to the time you spend getting to know Him a bit better. This will help when the unexpected occurs – and you know, it will occur. The more the Holy Spirit lives within you, the easier it is to handle the unexpected. And, when things arise it is more likely that you will handle them with grace and mercy, much like Jesus would.

living like jesus

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: New Testament, Old Testament, Proverbs

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “PLAN FOR THE UNEXPECTED!”


  1. Great Post, Makes a person Stop and Think About Now, and Today. Tomorrow isn’t that Important Until you Find God First…..

    Like


  2. AMEN Brother, this one rates high on the coffee scale for sure!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  3. billhogan77 Says:

    Great post! Jesus is one of the best examples I’ve seen of someone who was often busy, but never bothered. Thanks for the reminder. Be blessed!

    Like


  4. Thanks for linking to my post… it led me here and reinforced what God is saying to me. Blessings!

    Like

  5. Rene Yoshi Says:

    Wise counsel!

    Like


  6. […] Plan for the Unexpected! (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

