WHY DO WE NEED CHRIST?

“… apart from me you can do nothing.”  (John 15:5, NIV)

JOHN 15_5

It’s very hard to take those words seriously. After all, at first glance it doesn’t seem possible that we can’t do anything without Christ.

It seems to me that a lot of people do lots of good things without Christ? Anyone, even an atheist, can be kind, pay his suppliers on time, tell their boss the truth, visit the sick, befriend a lonely colleague, and do quality work. Isn’t that something?

Well, it certainly isn’t to be despised, but it seems to me that it isn’t the type of “fruit” that John’s Gospel was speaking of. Jesus is interested in the type of fruit that shows that we are His disciples and in the type that brings glory to His Father. So some of the things a non-believer may do might be exactly the same as that of a follower of Christ, but the motivation is entirely different – our desire is for God to be glorified.

We can’t bear fruit that reflects Christ unless we are connected to Him. This is vital. The whole tendency of human nature is to be independent, to believe that we know better than God, that we can do it without Him. The number one temptation for many people is what? Sex? Money? Power? For many people the number one temptation is to be self-reliant, to live life without having a relationship with God.

When we’re in trouble, when sales are down, when we can’t see a way to get it all done in time, we may turn to God. But what happens when the task looks well within the scope of our own competence? Do we ask God to guide us? The test of our dependency on Christ is not when we know we can’t, but when we think we can.

Think for a moment about the things you have to do at work today. Certainly, you could handle them on your own, but imagine what might happen if you brought Christ into the things you know you can do for yourself. Give it a try. You might be surprised at the results.

think about it

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: John, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

58 Comments on “WHY DO WE NEED CHRIST?”

  1. NICI ROBERSON Says:

    How true many of do, do things without christ in our hearts…. I myself am one of those whom has done many things without christ and truth be told it wasn’t the right path and i almost always never succeeded in a way that i felt good about.. BUT when i turned my life around when i had Jesus/Christ beside me not behind me… things ran smoothly life felt good and I felt alive…. WONDERFUL POST… thanks for the share

    on a side note : just curious as I see you refer to God as he, Question if we are all made in Gods image than isn’t God both male and female? We have long be trained if you were a christian catholic presbyterian etc that God is he,.. we have created pictures etc to back up that he… I understand Jesus was a he,… but God as an entity at least for me is no longer referred to as he… I acknowledge both male and female parts… after all without a mothers womb we would never be here… there was ADAM & EVE… and in revelations just to get biblely the second coming of christ is reference to a she involved …

    and its completely okay for anyone to acknowledge God anyway they want after all I have found God recently in Allah .. The same God I love and adore is the same God referred to as Allah it was an amazing revelation for me eye unveiling and heart grasping….

    Like

  2. Rene Yoshi Says:

    Great post! So often I have heard preachers/teachers quote that verse, “… apart from me you can do nothing,” and yet, the empirical evidence said otherwise. Unbelievers do ‘good’ things, too. Finally, a pastor conveyed the same message as your post above— it has to do with the heart and motivation. Other religions teach we must do good works in order to gain something, but the Bible teaches, we’ve already gained so much and good works should flow out of a heart of gratitude and love. So, if we’re doing ‘good’ things, even for others, but with the hope of gaining recognition, brownie points with a higher power or earn existence on a higher plane, or simply to make ourselves feel better, then that fruit will eventually pass away, and we end up losing rather than gaining.

    Like

  3. Ohpeekay Says:

    I am so blessed by this. Yes, it about the type of fruit. Indeed apart from Christ we can do NOTHING that will bear fruit and bring glory to God.

    Like

  4. asd539 Says:

    Awesome post. We can do a bunch of stuff on our own, but where is the passion and what is the purpose? We are here to glorify God, not ourselves, so the passion and purpose have to be for Him. So cool. 🙂

    Like

  5. seeker Says:

    I think of Christ all the time. Thank you for the post. Shared it in FB for others to read.

    Like


  6. This is so “right on.”

    Like

  7. Doug Couch Says:

    If one ponders this response honestly, waiting for the truth of it to arise from the Christ spirit within…it will help open the mind to the holy spirit of truth “in Christ” (for God is spirit, and them that worship him aright, MUST worship him “in spirit” and “in truth”). Without Christ you can do nothing is true because and only because of one thing. It is absolutely impossible for you or anyone to ever be without Christ, even for one second. David of old testified that even if he were to find himself in hell, he would not be there alone. The converse is also true. Without you, Christ can do nothing…for just as in God you live, move and have being, so also you are the body of Christ, and ever shall be, just as you were from before the foundation of what we now regard as “the world”, and in you does he live, move and have being. The current state of the world and its people is one of not knowing “the truth” of Christ, which with him being in you is also “the truth” of your own being. And this state causes “the Word”…which is his inutterable name…to be taken in vain (referenced ignorantly and therefore without efficacy) every moment of every day. And it is for this cause that the world suffers in agony…for as it has been said: because of ignorance, they perish. And yet I say unto you, none are lost forever, both believer and non-believer…for in that day when you and all do relent from your pride in your belief, and do trust in him aright, by opening to the revelation of Christ within to see it as it is… Then shall it be said by you of a truth…that absolutely every knee did indeed bow willingly, and absolutely every tongue did confess with joy to overflowing to see and to know the greatness of the salvation that is yours. And it is yours today but for the hesitancy to turn to him openly, and to see the truth freely given unto you, in which you absolutely cannot help but cry out for joy. This short message is my gift unto you, and all generations who will come, each in their day and in their own way…for whosoever shall come to drink of the waters of life shall in no wise be cast out nor ever turned aside. As they come with contrite heart, and a mind emptied of beliefs, in order to be renewed by the revealed truth…they shall find themselves brought unto that holy place which is ever prepared for you to live in which you shall know as you are known. The veil is lifted by your willingness to allow the understanding of how to lift it to be shown to you. And as you do understand, and do open your eyes, it shall be as though a great veil of ignorance had lifted off you, and so shall you see the salvation you long for…like a release from school as the bell tolls…like a release from prison when you know, not believe, but know the forgiveness you now but believe in. For knowledge of this is salvation itself. It is not enough to believe in him…you MUST know him in spirit and in truth…and “that” is worship and fellowship and love everlasting.

    Like

  8. mickybnovels Says:

    I think we are so desperate as a people that we need to have the belief that we can do everything on our own. We pay our bills, we work and we get on with our lives. I hold my hands up and I am the first to admit that honestly I cant do anything on my own without faith.

    I know for a fact I would break down sometimes if not for my faith, that even simple things would overwhelm me. Does that man I cant do it on my own without Christ? Yes it does, I dont understand why some people have to thing they are so strong or that it weak to admit you need a God, A saviour.

    Who has taught us that to show any weakness is wrong? We tell our children when they fall down to get back up, dust off your knee and stop crying. For the longest time I was conditioned that boys cant show emotions, they cant seem weak.

    I need my Christ, and My God. I will shout it from the highest places that I cant do anything without him. So should you.

    Like

  9. sagescenery Says:

    Great explanation of a great Biblical concept…well done!! God Bless!

    Like


  10. Reblogged this on The Shepherd's Presence and commented:
    That self-reliant part, surrendered to Christ can be powerfully used. Surrendered.

    Like

  11. AR Neal Says:

    Reblogged this on One Starving Activist and commented:
    “The test of our dependency on Christ is not when we know we can’t, but when we think we can.” Best.Line.Ever.

    Like

  12. Pastor Roland Ledoux Says:

    I love the post! Simple and so True to the point! We HAVE to be grafted into the VINE. Otherwise, we could never bring forth the fruit necessary.
    Jesus said it best, Matthew 12:34-37, “Brood of vipers! How can you, being evil, speak good things? For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good things, and an evil man out of the evil treasure brings forth evil things. But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment. For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”
    In other verses, He speaks of the works we do and how they will be judged but the same principle applies as what He speaks of in Matthew 12.
    A person, might be able to do some good things once in a while, but it is never lasting. It is only lasting as we fulfill the Holy Spirit’s leading and not what we want!
    Great post! I love your writing and look forward to more! God bless you abundantly as you strive to minister (serve) to all of us!!

    Like

  13. kellyscott57 Says:

    great post.
    I think people forget, Christians are human’s prone to making mistakes!
    I know some Christians < and before I press on?
    If I held out my hands, would anyone see "nail scar's ?"
    I hope not why, I'm a human and prone to misq's
    I know a lot of humans as known as Christians who are very demanding, wanting to swoop you up and mold you into what they want!
    this is really funny how we put most Christians like preachers, on this great big pedestal thinking they must be some god like figure?
    I'm sorry no they aren't.
    The example is I used to sit next to an ex pastor at basketball games, and I was shocked out of my mind when he started yelling at the refs or the other team? no he didn't use foul language , he was a real sport fan, sadly he died about 2 years ago .
    another story when I recall a couple in church, holding hands, and afterwards more holding hands an in church she her head on his shoulders?
    I recall hearing the news about a divorce , them?
    I didn't know about folks playing games or as my mom said putting on a mask?
    I believe strongly Christians are under a micro scope being watched like a hawk ready to swoop on some animal for food!
    will we make a misQ?? sure we will. I think most are so afraid, they will be so panic ,why , they will falter, like an athlete trying way to hard…
    I have said this over a zillion and half times so why not say it agin…'
    over 9 years ago I quit drinking and chewing how, the lord I'm sure!
    has it been a cake walk?
    if I said yes i'd be the biggest liar .
    I'm not pulling punches folks and some Christians think and its ok for them to believe it, but I think it better to just quit then to slowly quit something like the guy we know who's trying to quit the chew how ever he's doing it slow? I hope while trying slow, he doesn't get some form of cancer?'
    is it easy to quit any addiction, like smoking awww NO!
    My question to some is this?
    have you ever quit a job half way?
    again is it easy for me even with over 9 years????
    NO way jose.
    I live rather close by bars taverns and a dairy mart across the street, selling what, lets see chew ,alcohol and cigarettes , do I buy them NO….
    I believe god gave us a brain, we should use it!!!!

    Like


    • Thanks, Kelly! I used to smoke and drink (among a lot of other things), too! When I finally began to understand what it truly means to have the Spirit of God – the very same Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead – living within me, I gave up smoking, drinking, and a bunch of other stuff. I still mess up on a regular basis, but I am much more aware of the things that bring me down. Our Savior is only a prayer away, and He’s always close when I call Him.

      Thanks for sharing your testimony. It’s not easy to quit the habits we’ve grown accustomed to, but it’s a lot more rewarding to pick up the habit of trusting in the Lord.

      Take care and God bless! 🙂 Dave

      Like

      • kellyscott57 Says:

        so what do you think of Christians smoking pot?
        me? I’m fully against it why? why?’
        its pot.
        I think our country is trying so hard to make pot legal I think it stinks.
        I know several folks who claim to be Christians and remember im not here to judge , its their lifes, but my opinion is one point the person talks about using< then in the same breath talks about praying for the rampid drug use in our city? isn't he smoking grass?

        Like


      • Kelly,

        Years ago I smoked pot, but I didn’t have a good relationship with the Lord at the time. I’m not sure how it would have affected that relationship if I had one. I’m pretty sure today’s pot has been engineered to take you places I’ve never been. I have no interest in trying it because I don’t think I want to subject the Holy Spirit (who lives within me) to it. That’s just my opinion. Maybe there’s some pot out there that has been designed to bring you closer to God. Would that be wrong? I don’t think so. I strongly believe, however, that anything that gets between you and your relationship with the Lord should be avoided. 🙂 Dave

        Like

  14. Carol Says:

    Thank you! Good to think about for sure. It is easy to just do what I know I can do instead of asking Him to do it through me like I do the things I can’t.

    Like


    • Thanks for your comment, Carol! We really need to be aware of asking Him to help us even when we think we can do it by ourselves. I just get lazy and forget to ask for His help. That’s just crazy, but I do it all the time.

      Take care and God bless! 🙂 Dave

      Like

  15. -S Says:

    Turning to God in good and bad situations will always turn out to be a win/win situation. So it’s true .. We should do this more often and think about it.. 🙂

    Like

  16. mickybnovels Says:

    Reblogged this on mickybnovels and commented:
    we need him alot

    Like


  17. Excellent post!
    As Paul said, “Christ came to save sinners…” (from themselves and from hell). I think this is the foundation of all discussions about why we need Christ and being good without God etc.

    Like

  18. coffeediva Says:

    Excellent message today! Yes, there are many things we can probably do on our own but when we do them with God and give him the glory, the feeling is amazing! This principal has been difficult for me to get used to because I’m a fiercely independent person, but I am working at it and I already know the difference of doing it on my own and doing it with God’s help and it just doesn’t compare 🙂 Hallelujah! Have a wonderful day

    Like

  19. granonine Says:

    God is so good! I’m behind, as always, in blog-reading. Just saw this now, shortly after posting my study on Matthew 7:12, and it is exactly the support and encouragement I needed. God knew I’d be unsure of myself today, and let me see this at just the right time. Thank you!

    Like

  20. Di Wang Says:

    Elohim is my Rock.

    Treat others the same way you want [b]them to treat you. Luke 6:31

    Like


  21. […] Why Do We Need Christ? (work4christ.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


  22. Hey! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m
    trying to find a theme or plugin that might be
    able to fix this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Thank you!

    Like


Leave a Reply

