A MATTER OF CHOICE!

And He said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree that I commanded you not to eat from?”  The man said, “The woman you put here with me — she gave me some fruit from the tree, and I ate it.” Then the Lord God said to the woman, “What is this you have done?” The woman said, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.” (Genesis 3:11-13, NIV)

Apple

It’s human nature to blame others for our mistakes. After eating the forbidden fruit, Adam immediately blamed Eve when He was confronted by God. Eve blamed the serpent. Neither accepted responsibility for themselves. So it’s no wonder that when we fall into sin, we immediately place the blame one someone or something else.

Not only is this true of personal sin, but it is also true of corporate sin. It’s easy to be swayed by others when we are in a group. The teacher’s lounge, the conference room, governments, even bible study groups create environments where one person can influence the decisions of the entire group. Teachers may ban together against certain parents, business managers may choose to cut quality to increase profits, governments may become deceptive “for the good of the people”, and “good” Christians may decide to ban someone from their group because of a perceived sin they think that person may have committed.

We need to be extremely careful that we’re not the ones who sway others to go against the teaching of Christ. Jesus taught us, “Woe to the world because of the things that cause people to stumble! Such things must come, but woe to the person through whom they come!(Matthew 18:7, NIV)

Each of us has a responsibility to do what is right. If someone in your “group” has convinced the rest of the group to do something that goes against biblical teaching, you need to be the one to stand up and say “no, that isn’t right.”  We need to treat people with love and respect – just as Jesus did. Our relationship with Christ is much more important than company profits or anything else for that matter.

It’s simply a matter of choice! When we make mistakes – and we are going to make plenty – we need to accept responsibility. Just as God created Adam and Eve to make choices, He made us the same way. The choices we make either bring us closer to Christ or to the serpent in the garden.

choices

Choose wisely! Your future depends on it!

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Genesis, Matthew, New Testament, Old Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “A MATTER OF CHOICE!”


  1. […] A MATTER OF CHOICE!. […]

    Like


  2. Hi Dave, My son use to blame me for where he is at. I did not argue with him about his situation pointing finger back at him. Instead I told him I loved him. He soon quit blaming me. I believe he has finally taken responsiblity for his actions, and is becoming a responsible man. Although I do not approve of the actions of others and even of myself at times, I feel it is a process we go through as our heart/house becomes cleansed for God/Son/Spirit/Christ. When all 4 legs of the stand are strong then the light will shine on the table top.
    As soon as I began reading Genesis scripture I knew I would have something to say.

    Like


  3. Wonderful post Dave.

    Like

  4. AR Neal Says:

    Well-said! And by the way, I just added a WordPress Family award to your collection. Check it out here: http://starvingactivist.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/monday-musings-we-are-family/

    Like


  5. Such a great post! We must choose to do the right thing! Thank you for this reminder and I like how you said it, “The choices we make either bring us closer to Christ or to the serpent in the garden.” AMEN!

    Like

  6. billhogan77 Says:

    And the best news of all… we have help in making the right choice!
    “But when the Father sends the Advocate as my representative—that is, the Holy Spirit—he will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you.” (John 14:26 NLT)

    Like


Leave a Reply

