A VISIT TO THE DUMP!

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” (Matthew 6:34, NIV)

Trash

A dump! That’s what it felt like my life had become – a dumping ground for all my problems and troubles. I had questions without answers. A future without direction. All heaped together in one huge pile of doubt and uncertainty.

I needed to get away – to find a quiet place to ponder my problems, pray, and find peace. So I took a drive into the country and found a beautiful state park with acres and acres of wooded trails ideal for walking, thinking, and praying.

So I began to walk. I thought about my life. And I began to look for a quiet place to pray. After about an hour I came upon a small clearing at the edge of the woods. I stepped off of the path and walked about a quarter of a mile into the forest hoping to find a serene spot for quiet meditation. To my surprise I found myself directly in front of a large pile of trash – perhaps twenty feet tall – consisting mainly of junk – nasty, filthy junk.

The junk pile contained worn-out furniture, splintered doors, rusted appliances, and old, beat up toys. There were also broken tree branches and chopped up trunks of fallen trees. As I began to walk away, I noticed a large log resting next to the trash heap. Surprisingly, I decided this might just be the place where God would like me to pray.

As I sat down on the log, it occurred to me how much my life felt like this trash heap – piled high with rubbish. I didn’t know how to deal with it.

I never expected to find myself staring at a pile of trash when I awoke that morning, but that’s exactly where God led me. I told Him my trials, troubles, and tribulations. He listened carefully to everything I said. I declared my doubts, fears, and discouragements. He heard me. I poured out my confusion, uncertainty, and insecurity. He understood.

Did He solve all of my problems as I sat on that trash heap? Of course not! But something miraculous did occur. I knew I wasn’t alone. I knew I had a hand to guide me and a heart to love me. Somehow God calmed my inner chaos and turned my uncertainty into trust – trust in a faithful Father who will never leave me no matter how much trash accumulates in my life.

We are never alone. There will be good days and bad days, days filled with love and days filled with distress. We will always struggle to keep the trash out. Sometimes we will succeed and other times we will fail. The most important thing we can do is to find the one friend who can help us get through it all. His name is Jesus!

Jesus Friend

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Matthew, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “A VISIT TO THE DUMP!”

  1. kmgregory12 Says:

    What a great reminder about perspective! Thank you!

    Like


  2. Can relate to this – need to be more open to being led to a rubbish dump – to offload – I guess! Bless you!

    Like

  3. shadowlilies Says:

    This is exactly what my son needs to read right now. So many are struggling…wrestling…but the important thing is to focus on Jesus. Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

  4. Rene Yoshi Says:

    I love those little intimate moments with the Lord! What a great analogy!

    Like


  5. Great post Dave!!!! The smoothie scale is maxed out!!!!

    Take Care my Friend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  6. tulalangtala8 Says:

    Great morning encouragement!! Thanks!!!

    Like


  7. Thank you for this post. It was a great reminder. I am so grateful to have Him with me.

    Like


  8. May God bless U for your encouraging posts !!

    Like

  9. garden2day Says:

    So true. I can identify with this. Trusting in the Father… Take care! 😀

    Like


Leave a Reply

