IT’S TIME TO REST!

“Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is a sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, neither you, nor your son or daughter, nor your male or female servant, nor your animals, nor any foreigner residing in your towns.” (Exodus 20:9-10, NIV)

Pressure

Jesus took seriously the importance of getting away from pressure. Doing so, He was faithful to His own guidelines given to the nation of Israel centuries earlier, commanding a once-weekly Sabbath rest.

An incident recounted in Matthew 14:13-20 reveals that Jesus sometimes found it hard to get away from pressure. Crowds of people all over Israel knew Him as the “Teacher,” and flocked to hear Him as well as to receive the benefits of His healing ministry. When news got out that He was in a place, people gathered.

Matthew explains that Jesus received sad news about his cousin John, and wanted to get away to a remote place to be alone for a while. But news got out, so that a huge crowd gathered. Having compassion on them, He helped them.

Similarities to work are clear. Tasks keep coming. Requests are made, and expectations along with them. Unexpected duties come along. Plus, we have more to consider than work – there are the domestic and family and other involvements, too.

Jesus wanted to get away from the crowds that day, but they pressed in on Him. He accepted the situation gracefully, and served them. This does not say that we should give in to overloading, but it is a reminder to try to handle overload or inconvenience gracefully with God’s help. It is also a reminder that time out is not a luxury. Time out is essential. God Himself commanded a weekly rest day. Make no mistake: He obeys His own principles. The story doesn’t say when He got the rest He wanted, but we may be sure that He made the time somehow.

For your health, the health of your family and friends, and the health of your relationship with God, make sure that your pressure cooker of work has a safety valve for you to blow off steam and rest.

Rest

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Exodus, Matthew, New Testament, Old Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

18 Comments on “IT’S TIME TO REST!”


  1. So well said and such a great connection!

    Like


  2. 🙂
    Under Construction

    Like

  3. mwitasblog Says:

    That’s very true!

    Like


  4. The world with all its noise tends to steal our rest. I think one of the reasons Jesus travelled by boat so much was because there at least it wAs impossible for people to press in on him. I have found if I truly want to break away I have to make it impossible for people to find me and for me to find people.

    Like


  5. I find that even though I do not have a 9-5 job, being a caregiver to my spouse and the housekeeper, cook, laundress and repair person, I too feel overwhelmed that there is never time to “get away and pray”. My time with the LORD is the first few moments of the day that I set aside. I have tried to set limits on Sunday that we go to church and then it is a day of rest. Thanks for this post.

    Like

  6. Lyn Says:

    I love how Jesus said to His disciples, “Come apart and rest a while, or you’ll come apart” Well, okay, that’s paraphrased, but that’s what He meant 😉

    Like

  7. Shelly Says:

    For me it is all about starting my day with the Lord, being able to spend a few minutes with Him before the chaos of the day begins. My favorite Scripture for this is Mark 1:35
    Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.
    After living in the Middle East for 4 years, I realized “while it was still dark” meant before 4:30-5:00 am – wow that’s early! Blessings!

    Like

  8. bernasvibe Says:

    With our busy daytodays and especially holding down an 8 -5 weekdays; it is difficult to just rest..I find myself rushing in the evenings just to get a free moment to sit; still. When I do I fall to sleep lol! Wake up the next morning sprawled across the bed wondering what time I passed out..Weekends are just as jammed packed with early morning choir practice and then church etc etc..I find my social life is surely lacking..Well outside of church activities. I keep planning time to breathe…Because I’m staying so busy doing productive & positive things I don’t see it as an issue..Until, again , I realize my social life is lacking..Great advice on resting & I find myself doing alot of that this past couple weekends. Enjoyed the write…& the message. Stay UPlifted & blessed!

    Like

  9. CandiceMaria Says:

    Reblogged this on Memoirs of a Missionary and commented:
    The importance of rest! After all of your hard work is complete, make time to rest, so that you remain strong to work some more!

    Like

  10. coffeediva Says:

    Wise words indeed! 🙂

    Like

  11. SouthernGal Says:

    wow, thank you for that message. You can apply so much of the bible to real life.

    Like


Leave a Reply

