SOMEDAY IS TODAY!

“When my heart whispered, “Seek God,” my whole being replied, “I’m seeking Him!”   (Psalm 27:8  MSG)

I had a great story I wanted to write about today, but unfortunately I can’t find it. It’s buried in a pile of stuff somewhere on my desk.

Pile of Papers

Photo Courtesy of ThinkStock

I have a real problem with piles of stuff. It seems to multiply around me. At work, at home, in the car. It’s everywhere. Half the time I can’t find the thing I’m looking for because it’s buried in a pile somewhere. And, in this wonderful age of technology, I shouldn’t have anything in a pile – anywhere! Everything should be scanned and filed away in my computer.

Recently I was out in the garage digging through one of my piles of “boxed stuff.” I came across a beautiful card from an old friend. Inside was a check for $100. “Excellent,” I thought. I could use a hundred dollars. Then I noticed the card and check where congratulating my wife and I on our marriage – thirty years ago. Needless to say, I didn’t rush over to the bank to cash it. And, as I recall, I was very busy thirty years ago and decided to cash the check later. You guessed it – I put it on my desk.  And, well … the rest is history!

Finding that check got me thinking. How many other good things am I missing in life because I set them aside until I have more time? A family vacation? A call to the kids? An email to a loved one? A visit to an old friend? Time alone with God?

Perhaps this has happened to you, too. Perhaps it’s happened in your work life, your home life or even your spiritual life? Maybe you’ve felt God tugging at your heart. You’ve wanted to answer Him, but you’re just too busy now. So you decide to set those thoughts aside – just for the moment. You’ll come back to God later – when you have more time. Days pass, then months, then years.  It may be ages before you realize what you’ve lost.  And in some cases, you may never know.

Shakespeare once wrote, “Defer no time. Delays have dangerous ends.” This is true in many areas of life. But it is especially true in our relationship with God.

Perhaps we could all use a little advice. Let’s not get so busy that the really important things in life get pushed off into a pile, waiting to be addressed later. Let’s try not to put off the things that really matter most in life. Let’s seek God today. Let’s listen to His voice today. And, let’s spend time with Him today.

Whatever you do, don’t let God get lost in a pile of good intentions.  His love is meant to be shared today!

Someday is Today

Enjoy today, “Working for Christ”!

Explore posts in the same categories: Old Testament, Psalm

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “SOMEDAY IS TODAY!”


  1. I have Piles too!!!! The 100 dollar check, I’m sure will not be in the stack!!!!! LOL Good one Dave!!!! Now, time for another cup of coffee….. I’m taking a day of from Work!!! The front porch paint job is calling my name…..

    Take Care My Friend and God Bless!!! 🙂 Kenny T

    Like


  2. Excellent reminder Dave! Love the Shakespeare quote “Defer no time. Delays have dangerous ends.” So fitting for the days we are living!

    Like

  3. AR Neal Says:

    Amen! This one was aimed straight for my brain. My primary purpose when I got online today was to purchase two items for two people; I had been putting it off (one purchase had been put off for years). Thank you for the confirmation 😉

    Like


  4. Amen! And He often does get lost as we get busier doing things, things that aren’t really as important. Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

    Like

  5. Rene Yoshi Says:

    Great reminder! 🙂

    Like

  6. garden2day Says:

    Great reminder! Thanks! I have so many piles right now that it is really pathetic but God-willing I will get through them all. Praise God! Take care and have a blessed weekend! – Amy 😀

    Like


  7. Excellent reminder! I too have piles of stuff…you never know what you’ll find! That’s something I really need to work on.

    Like

  8. embraceyourpurpose Says:

    Great reminder not to put off what really matters – our relationship with God.

    Like


Leave a Reply

