IT ALL BEGINS TODAY!

“But no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be.” (James 3:8-10, NIV)

148509674

I’m a collector. I collect words that inspire, instruct, or encourage me. I like quotes that make me think new thoughts, motivate me to take action, or sometimes just make me laugh. As I was writing today’s devotional, I came across this one:

Don’t use time or words carelessly. Neither can be retrieved. — Brian Dyson

I need this reminder constantly.  I find it far too easy to waste time – to spend minutes, hours or even days doing things that don’t really matter. Sometimes this happens when I’m tired, bored, or frustrated. I easily forget … time is not infinite.  We only have so much of it while we’re on this planet.  Yet there are so many goals and dreams I want to accomplish. I don’t want to miss any of life’s opportunities because I’ve used my time carelessly.

Words, of course, are the same. Careless words can cause pain. Careless words may ruin an opportunity to uplift others. As a parent, as a business leader, as a spouse and as a friend, I must remember that once words have been spoken they can’t be retrieved. I want to use my words to raise others up, not drag them down.

I pray that you, too, will think about these things as you go through your day. Use your time wisely – plan what you are going to say before you open your mouth. Wouldn’t it be refreshing to make it through an entire day without hearing – or saying – a negative word, an insulting remark, or a judgmental comment? One day can lead to two; two days can lead to an entire week, a week to a month, and so on! It all begins today!

it begins here

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ.”

Explore posts in the same categories: James, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “IT ALL BEGINS TODAY!”


  1. I must say these are good WORDS for today!!!!! 5 Smoothies my Friend!!!!!

    Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  2. garden2day Says:

    Two things I can really work on. Thanks, Dave. It all starts somewhere, one day at a time. 🙂 Take care! 😀

    Like


Leave a Reply

