CAUGHT IN A TRAFFIC JAM!

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.”  John 3:16  NIV
Traffic Jam
Have you ever experienced a day that feels like one big test? Mine was last Friday. It began with running late. I was late to nearly everything – a  7 o’clock prayer breakfast, an 8 o’clock meeting, a 9 o’clock appointment, and a 10 o’clock phone call.  There were people who were counting on me. There were emails to reply to and problems to solve.  There was one stress after another.

Then there was a noon luncheon I was responsible for. I rushed to the meeting room only to discover it was completely unprepared for our important guests. So the luncheon ran late, and I was late meeting my wife afterwards. We jumped into the car to race seven hours from Orlando to Atlanta to spend the weekend with friends. But of course, traffic was bad.  Entire fleets of enormous 18-wheelers surrounded us. Driving a small compact next to these giant mammoths makes my wife nervous – which then makes me nervous.

When we finally reached the outskirts of Atlanta, just a few miles from our destination, traffic came to a standstill. In 20 minutes we moved maybe 20 feet. Exhaust fumes engulfed us. I nearly lost it. I felt frustrated, nauseated, and irritated. Almost nothing had gone right today. And although some of it wasn’t my fault, some of it was. Why, I wondered, don’t I plan my life better? Why can’t I do my work faster? Why can’t I be more confident? Why do I get so upset over things beyond my control? Why can’t I learn to accept myself for who I am?

Silently I studied the tail lights in front of me as questions whirled through my head. To take my mind off this frustrating day I turned on the car stereo and put on a Max Lucado CD. It was a live presentation of songs and readings from Max’s book “He Chose the Nails.” Then in the midst of an Atlanta traffic jam I heard these words…

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only son.” Aren’t you glad the verse doesn’t read, “For God so loved the rich or the famous, the sober or successful, the young or the old?”. . . How wide is God’s love? It’s wide enough for the whole world. Are you included in the world? Then you’re included in God’s love!

As the words sank deep, music played, frustration dissolved, and spirits lifted. Suddenly all the hurry, worry, and flurry of the day melted away. Peace settled in. “For God so loved the world…”  That meant He loved every person, in every car, in every traffic jam in the world.  Including me.

He loves me in spite of every question I’ve ever had about myself. He loves me on good days and bad days equally.  He loves me despite all my faults, failures, and foibles.  Just knowing that made me feel … grateful.

Thank you Lord. Thank you for the traffic jam that slowed me down. Thank you for Max Lucado who lifted my spirits up. Thank you for your love that reaches me anywhere. And most of all, thank you for putting all three together when I needed them most.

Love

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ!”

Explore posts in the same categories: John, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “CAUGHT IN A TRAFFIC JAM!”


  1. Excellent post !! May God bless U through your writing !! May I have permission to re-post, copy and paste to e-mail, re-blog on Godsmanforever.wordpress.com, (with all the sites I post from there), and on “Gods group” on Facebook ??? I write 3 times a week, and am looking for inspiring writing to feed God’s sheep…
    Blessings in Christ, bruce

    Like

  2. garden2day Says:

    I think a lot of people must have been in Atlanta this weekend 😉 . It sure seemed that way when I was traveling through to get to see E–I couldn’t get there fast enough to see if she was ok and bring her home. Then we had to turn around and go back today to get the car. I am Atlanta-ed out for awhile. Your points were excellent and I shared your post on FB. Sometimes we need to slow down to seek God and all times–we need to be thankful. 🙂 Take care! 😀

    Like


Leave a Reply

