WHEN WILL I LEARN?

“Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you.” (James 4:7-8, NIV)

No Internet

You might be wondering where I’ve been all week.

On Monday morning before I began to write, I sat down to check my email. To my dismay, there was no internet connection. I followed Microsoft’s troubleshooting procedures and – nothing. No internet! What could have possibly happened from Sunday evening, when everything was working fine, until Monday morning? All I did was sleep. I assumed my computer was sleeping too. But some how, some way, a little “bug” crawled inside my computer and disabled the internet.

Then I discovered another problem.

I use two screens when I’m working. One is for my Office documents; the other is projected from my computer onto a large monitor so I can view architectural drawings. Well, my computer was now unable to project onto the second screen. What was I going to do? How was I going to get my work done? No internet. No second screen.

I did the only thing I could do under the circumstances. I panicked! Thinking I could fix everything myself, I began “googling” the problems and identifying solutions. I tried them all, but nothing worked. In fact things kept getting worse. For three days I tried everything, but no luck. I had an appointment yesterday with one of my clients and needed everything to work, but nothing was happening. I was going to have to cancel and miss out on a “paycheck” this week. That’s exactly what happened. I called, explained the situation, re-scheduled for next week, then sat back in my chair – dejected, defeated.

I began to pray.

“Really?”, you’re thinking, “You went from Monday all the way until Thursday before you asked for God’s help?” I’m sorry. I’m human. I was so caught up in my problems I completely forgot to bring God into the situation. I honestly thought I could solve these things on my own. After all, what does God know about computers, anyway? And besides, it’s not like I completely forgot about Him. I still said grace and included Him in other parts of my week. I just thought I could handle this on my own.

You can probably figure out what happened. Right after I prayed, I sat back, closed my eyes, and allowed the Holy Spirit to work in me. All of a sudden, it became obvious that I needed to take my computer to the Geek Squad at Best Buy. Once I did that, within fifteen minutes, my computer was running like new again.

Why couldn’t I think of getting help from someone who actually knew something about computers on Monday? Why did I let this “little” problem ruin my entire week? I’ll tell you why. There is someone living among us whose job is to bring us down – to destroy us. Satan is alive and working on each of us every single day. I spent three and a half days with him this week. He beat me up every day trying to convince me that I didn’t need God’s help in my life. He nearly had me convinced. But finally, I remembered to get in touch with the One who brings peace and comfort to those in need. God, through the Holy Spirit, came into my life and brought me through again. When will I learn? I hope you’re not as weak as I am.

Walking with the Devil

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ!”

Explore posts in the same categories: James, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

42 Comments on “WHEN WILL I LEARN?”

  1. Daniel Undem Says:

    Glad to hear you’re back in action. Amazing what prayer can do. God Bless.

    Like

  2. garden2day Says:

    I’m so glad you are ok!!! I have been worried…don’t do that to me!!! 😀

    Of the other, don’t sweat it. We all do it. We think we can handle everything…silly humans… 😀 . Just think about God–He has the biggest laughs. I’m just glad you are ok!!! Take care!

    Like


  3. Welcome back to the connected world. good to hear you got everything worked out.

    Like


  4. Oh how quickly we all forget! Thankful He never forgets us! Glad you are up and working again Dave!

    Like

  5. Rene Yoshi Says:

    Been there, done that! [sheepish grin]

    Like


  6. Most men I know, including me- ask my wife, are hard headed and think they can fix anything that is broken and find places without directions…… …..Great Post!!!! 5 cups

    Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    Like

  7. lillianl17 Says:

    I always have trouble running to God first!! Even for the smallest things, I have to learn to bring it to Him first, that way- everything works out perfectly the first time without me ruining it!

    Like


    • Amen, Lillian! It must be a human thing. We always think we can do it without “troubling” God. It’s hard for us to understand that He doesn’t mind being troubled – in fact, He wants us to come to Him first! Thanks for your comment. God bless! 🙂 Dave

      Like

      • atmokupe Says:

        I agree totally! Words fail me because this post relates to many points in my life where I kind of thought the situation was too small to “disturb” God for. I found out he’s interested also in those little bits of our everyday lives.

        Like

  8. SaintlySages Says:

    The devil possesses a very clever intellect: he can disorder the thought process of the most intelligent human mind.

    Like


  9. Reblogged this on a disciple of Jesus's Blog and commented:
    In all the complications and problems of life, we need to reach to our Saviour first.

    Like

  10. cate b Says:

    Ahh, humans. Thank you for sharing this – we all need to be reminded constantly – He is with us and a part of us always – never leaves – we are the ones that leave….. haha Have a GREAT week.

    Like

  11. Julie Garro Says:

    We all have our moments. I love this title “When will I learn?” I feel the same way, all too often. Don’t beat yourself up. God is here for us all the time, even when we slip.

    Like

  12. mdetweiler Says:

    good reminder. Thanks!

    Like

  13. mdetweiler Says:

    Reblogged this on Isn't Enough Blog.

    Like

  14. Maureen S Says:

    Oh, yes I am as weak as you. sorry to say, it is true. Thank God for His grace.

    Like


  15. Hi, I had to laugh when I read this. I have been having an issue that has plagued me for about a month on page numbering in a Word document on my computer. Just yesterday, after some prayer, it hit me I should talk to one of the geek squad at Best Buy! I read your article this morning and took it as confirmation. Today, I stopped by. Since it is a software issue, they didn’t know much but gave me a 4 page article they printed for me on controling page numbering. I will try it. I am glad your computer issues were put to rest with God’s help!

    Like


    • Computers, software and technology in general can be so frustrating. I hope you got your problem resolved! And, I hope we can all learn to turn to God first before we even attempt to try things on our own. Take care and God bless! 🙂 Dave

      Like


  16. Yes, I remember doing that and put it in a post. My toilet blocked up and I spent about an hour trying to fix it all to no avail while getting YKW everywhere. Finally (in frustration) I asked Father! He said use the sink plunger. Plunger? Surely it is too small. No, it worked like a dream. I’ve even had the plumber there a few times for this problem and asked him but never thought to ask the Most High Problem Solver Himself. Always always ask Father FIRST.

    Like


  17. So special! I finally caught this post on “Morning …” re~posted as I follow both of your blogs. Computers can really test ones Christianity sometimes. In Jesus, Nancy

    Like


  18. Brilliant post!!

    My husband is gona love this one!!!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

