LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR THROUGH YOUR WORK!

“The Son is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.” (Colossians 1:15-17, NIV)

Image of Christ

The fact that Jesus was a carpenter tells us that He did not think His occupation was below Him or that He was wasting His many gifts by spending time in the workplace. Think about it for a moment. The One who was the master craftsman of the universe spent a great deal of time during His thirty-three years on earth crafting things with His hands. It’s easy for us to overlook the fact that Jesus knew what it meant to get up and go to work every day. Jesus experienced both the exhilaration and the exhaustion of putting in a hard day’s work. He didn’t see His work as mundane or meaningless – it was the work His Father called Him to do.

I have a pretty good hunch that Jesus was a top-notch carpenter producing work of the highest quality. In fact, even before Jesus entered His rabbinical ministry, Matthew reminds his readers of God’s pleasure in His Son. Following Jesus baptism, the Spirit of God descended as a dove, and a voice from heaven declared, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased. (Matthew 3:17, NIV) I am sure there were many things that pleased the Father, but one important aspect of Jesus’ life that we must not overlook was His work as a carpenter. Much like us, He spent time in the workplace dealing with the same types of things we deal with every day. He was able to overcome the trials and temptations that affected His life and He was able to receive that vote of confidence from His Father – “with him I am well pleased.” Jesus’ Father is also our Father. How great would it be to hear those very same words about us from our Father in heaven!

We worship God in and through our work, but one of the primary ways we love our neighbor is in and through our vocation. Jesus calls us to “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind; and, Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Luke 10:27, NIV) The transforming truth is that God is very much at work in our work. He is transforming us in our work and transforming the world through our work.

Keep an open mind and an open heart as you enter your workplace today. Love those around you. Help transform the world – one day at a time. Remember, you are “Working for Christ!”

Work for Christ

Explore posts in the same categories: Colossians, Luke, Matthew, New Testament

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR THROUGH YOUR WORK!”


  1. This is such a good post! I think a lot of us forget that we are to be ambassadors for Christ everywhere, not just at church. I have made it a habit to pray every morning in my car on route to work to ask the Lord to use me this day to encourage and love on those who He brings into my office and to be the hands and feet of Christ to each of them. Just yesterday I had a client come in that was very challenging. 😉 When I was tempted to respond with a bit of attitude the Lord reminded me of my prayer that morning and I was able to turn my attitude right around when I knew He had brought that person in! I am so thankful that I discovered your blog. It is a great source of encouragement to me in my daily work day!

    Like


    • Thank you so much, Lori! It is extremely challenging to bring our Christianity with us throughout the day. I needed to start this blog as a reminder to myself just how much I need Christ wherever I am and whatever I’m doing. I’m so happy it is helping you, too! Take care and God bless! 🙂 Dave

      Like

  2. garden2day Says:

    I think He was an excellent carpenter. I’m just just glad He decided to take up fishing 😉 .

    I try to pattern my life and decisions around Him. I’m not perfect (so far off) but maybe if we focused on ourselves a little more than on everyone else we would get where we are trying to go. That isn’t supposed to sound critical btw 🙂 . Living a life that is an example of what Jesus preached…that’s my goal. I just don’t make it as far as I would like sometimes. Good post, Dave. – A 😀

    Like


    • I’m with you, Amy! I’ve had several meetings over the past couple of days that have been challenging to my faith. It is so difficult to live the kind of life that Jesus preached (and lived). We’ll always be a “work in progress” – I just pray that I continue to progress in a forward direction! Thanks (as usual) for your comment. 🙂 Dave

      Like


  3. Great post! My husband and I have this verse engraved in our wedding bands: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

    Like

  4. garden2day Says:

    Hi! 😀 Just stopping by to say, “Hi!” and “I hope you are ok!” Take care! – A 😀

    Like


Leave a Reply

