FIND YOUR “NEW” SELF!

“But now you must also rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips. Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.” (Colossians 3:8-10, NIV)

Colossians 3-8

Generally speaking, when problems occur, we react. Most of the time we react instinctively, not rationally. We react according to our human nature, not according to our spiritual nature.

Recently one of my clients called me to inform me that I had made a mistake. My first thought was one of denial. “That’s impossible. I don’t make mistakes,” I thought. But after I had taken time to think rationally about the situation I realized that I do make mistakes. We all make mistakes. It’s human nature; none of us are perfect.

As I look back on how I used to react to these types of situations, the “old me” would have become angry, thrown out a few choice four-letter words, and even made up a little white lie to place the blame somewhere else. But my “new self” is aware of the changes the Lord has made within me. The Lord has given me a sense of control – an ability to be more understanding, more patient, and less angry.  He has blessed me with the presence of Jesus in my life – a role model in whom to follow as problems occur throughout my day. Unlike Jesus, however, the “new me” will never be perfect. I will always struggle, but with the help of the Holy Spirit, I am learning to control my human nature and to express my spiritual nature. I am humbled and honored to believe that I am slowly being transformed into someone who looks a little more like Jesus every day.

“For the Lord gives wisdom; from His mouth come knowledge and understanding. He holds success in store for the upright, He is a shield to those whose walk is blameless, for He guards the course of the just and protects the way of His faithful ones.” (Proverbs 2:6-8,NIV)

The Lord provides a way for each of us to gain understanding and knowledge. When we live for Christ, He becomes our shield and protects us when things get out of control. When problems arise – and believe me, they will – we have someone to turn to, someone who understands human nature just as well as He understands spiritual nature. When problems arise, d0n’t return to your “old self”. Turn toward Christ. Allow Him to help you find your “new self”.

Work for Christ

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ!”

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Colossians, New Testament, Old Testament, Proverbs

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “FIND YOUR “NEW” SELF!”


Leave a Reply

