TODAY ISN’T OVER YET!

That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, “Let us go over to the other side.” Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him. A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion.

The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?”  He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?” (Mark 4:35-40, NIV)

Calming the Storm

Our days are filled with stress. Most of us wake up at about six o’clock in the morning so we can be to our jobs by eight. Not only do we have to get up and be ready to go, we need to make sure our spouse and kids are up and ready to go, too. It seems that when we are rushing around, trying to get ready, nobody in the house wants to cooperate.  “I want cereal,” the youngest screams out.” “I want scrambled eggs,” replies the middle one. “I don’t want to eat today. I’m too fat,” says the oldest. “I’m making pancakes and everyone is going to eat them,” commands mom! Then, the cries and arguments begin. It’s only seven o’clock and my day has just begun.

After dropping my third grader off at school, I sit back in my car and take a deep breath. Ahhh! Finally I can relax. I put on some nice, relaxing blues and get ready to make the rest of my drive to the office. As I get ready to enter the freeway, I notice that the traffic is moving, but at a snail’s pace. It looks as if my forty-five minute commute may take a little longer than expected. Cars in front of me are stopping and starting as if they’d never been in a traffic jam before. Cars behind me are honking, and those around me are cutting in and out of traffic trying to gain an advantage any way they can. There really isn’t any apparent reason for the delay. Nobody can handle it. Horns are honking, fingers are raised and flying at each other, and words are being said that would embarrass even the nastiest of drunken sailors.

Traffic Jam

Finally, at eight thirty, I make it to my office. I’m exhausted. I haven’t even grabbed a cup of coffee before my secretary says, “There’s a call on the line. They’ve been holding for ten minutes, and they really sound upset.” Are you kidding me? I can’t take any more! How am I supposed to show others that I am living for Christ if I can’t get a handle on anything that’s going on around me? What am I supposed to do?

Perhaps when I woke up at six o’clock and made sure my wife and kids were awake, I should have taken a few minutes to “wake” Jesus, too! Maybe I should have invited Him to breakfast with us. I’m sure He would have enjoyed my wife’s blueberry pancakes, and I know He enjoys having breakfast with the kids. I could have even asked Him to sit next to me on the freeway and to protect me and those around me. Before getting out of my car at work, I could have asked Him to bless my day and to show me ways in which to glorify Him as I meet the various challenges that I will be facing today.

I could have and I should have, but I didn’t. Lucky for you (and for me), today isn’t over yet. It’s not too late to “wake” Jesus up and invite Him into your day. It only takes a few minutes. When your storms are raging and you think Jesus is asleep, He’s not! He’s just waiting for you to come to Him! There is no need to worry. He’s got your back!

Work for Christ

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ!”

Explore posts in the same categories: Mark, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “TODAY ISN’T OVER YET!”


  1. What a great word! How often do I forget to invite Jesus into the day and I am a pastor. It doesn’t matter who we are or what we do. Everything works better when Jesus is involved.

    Like


  2. […] TODAY ISN’T OVER YET!.  (Click on the link) […]

    Like

  3. keijo Says:

    Yes so wonderful to living with christ today again and be sowing our seed in favor and in faith to reap later big harvest with Christ and he wonderful to have every moment in the Holy Spirit power in joy and in healing for our sickness ,thanks and bless and joy,keijo sweden

    Like


Leave a Reply

