ANOTHER SETBACK! ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. (James 1:2-4, NIV)

frustration

Really? I’m supposed to be happy when trials come my way? What about if I lose my job, my career, my financial stability, or my marriage? How are any of these things supposed to bring me joy?

Each of those things has happened to me. Every time, my first instinct was to blame God. During the process of blaming Him, I found myself opening His Word and searching for answers. I began to realize that these “burdens” were actually bringing me closer to Him. My burdens were helping to create a new “me”. I realized that they were not random incidents at all, but were all parts and pieces to a puzzle that was designed to make me more mature, more focused, more rugged, and more fruitful. I began to realize what Jesus was teaching when He said: He (God) cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.” (John 15:2, NIV)

I’ll be the first to admit that I have not fully enjoyed the struggle, the hardship, and the pain of my past, but I am beginning to “like” the person that I’ve become as a result. I definitely prefer my post-burden self to the person I was before.

It’s still difficult when trials come my way, but I have a new understanding of what they mean to me. I have learned to welcome them into my life as a way to get closer to my Lord and Savior! There is no more blame – only love for the One who has saved me.

If you are going through a tough time right now, recognize the pain. Talk about it with those you trust. Don’t try to escape it. Let it do its work. And, trust that it will not last forever. Trust that, after a while, it will go away and you will emerge with a better vision of yourself. Turn your trials and hardships over to the Lord. He has orchestrated these things to bring you closer to Him! Really!

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ!”

Work for Christ

Explore posts in the same categories: James, John, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “ANOTHER SETBACK! ARE YOU KIDDING ME?”

  1. Paul H. Lemmen Says:

    Reblogged this on A Conservative Christian Man.

    Like

  2. MoodyMandy Says:

    Reblogged this on Where Madness & Truth Collide. and commented:
    Purpose in Pain. Beautiful truth here!

    Like


  3. Wow! That’s a tough one, Terri! Stay strong. Blessings, Dave πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person


  4. Excellent post, Dave!

    Like

  5. garden2day Says:

    Tough? Yes! Worth it? Yes!
    Hard to see the end of the storm while in the middle but you know it will be ok.
    Take care, Dave! πŸ™‚

    Like


  6. A great word. Well worth sharing!

    Like


  7. Reblogged this on Lillie-Put and commented:
    Don’t give up. Rejoice!

    Like


  8. I, too, have walked this journey and I now look at my trials as, ‘what is God trying to teach me in and through this battle?’ Great word!

    Like


Leave a Reply

