HAVE YOU BECOME A “WATCHER?”

As long as it is day, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work. (John 9:4, NIV)

Take Action

When you are working, are you working for Christ or are you working for someone or something else? Are you a bystander, simply watching the way things unfold around you, never getting involved, or do you take action and represent Jesus Christ in your daily life?

Personally, I realize I’ve spent way too much time watching and not enough time working. I get caught up in the events of the day and completely forget to work on those things that God created me for, specifically those things mandated by the two great commandments:

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.” And, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Matthew 22:37-39, NIV)

I’ve watched too many sermons about the Gospel, but have not “lived out” the Gospel. I’ve watched too many movies and read too many books about other people’s adventures, but I have ignored the adventures that God has placed directly in front of me. I’ve watched too much basketball, golf, and soccer – watching others face their fears, face great odds, and push themselves to their supposed limits, but have not done those things myself. Don’t misunderstand me, sermons, movies, books, and sports are all good things. There is nothing wrong with inspiration … but it’s got to be inspiration for something.

For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love... (Ephesians 1:4, NIV)

When God dreamt about us long ago, did He dream of us watching others live out their great stories or did He have a plan for us to live out our story, too? I may have slipped over the past few weeks and months, but God has called out to me to share His love and to continue writing the story He has created especially for me. Pray that He will lead you into your story, too.

Don’t stand by and be a “watcher”. Stand tall and be a worker, “Working for Christ!”

Work for Christ

Explore posts in the same categories: Ephesians, John, Matthew, New Testament

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “HAVE YOU BECOME A “WATCHER?””


  1. Amen Dave !! I had already bookmarked a writing of yours from 8/2013 to post tomorrow… Going to post this, and save the other for another day !!

    Blessings in Christ, bruce

    Like


  2. Reblogged this on Lillie-Put and commented:
    Are you a watcher of your story or a character in it?

    Like


  3. I am feeling the same message Dave! Time to stop spectating and engage more in the work of the Kingdom! Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

